2012 Huset's Speedway Hall of Fame Inductees:

  • Doug Clark

  • Gary DeWall

  • David Kruger

  • Chuck McGillivray

  • Bill Smith



Bios written by Rob Ristesund


Doug Clark has been a flagman for 34 years and has become one of the most well-known and respected officials in dirt track auto racing.

Clark first became involved in auto racing as a child when he would sweep the floor of Pete Peterson’s shop, which housed the race car of Hall of Fame member Harold Petree, in exchange for a ride to Huset’s. When he was old enough to enter the infield, he became a crew member for driver Bill Hill and later for Hall of Fame members Darryl Dawley and his friend since childhood, Doug Wolfgang.

Looking for a different avenue to be involved in racing, Clark began flagging the races at Hartford (now I-90) Speedway in 1979. He eventually would become the flagman at Huset’s for 25 years and is now in his 28th year on the flagstand at Knoxville (Iowa) Raceway. He also flagged weekly racing in Huron and Fairmont, Minn.

Due to his capabilities and reputation, Clark has been chosen by a number of promoters and organizations to flag some of the biggest dirt track races in the country. He has worked at dozens of tracks in about 18 different states and flagged a number of nationally televised events.


Gary DeWall won two championships in the top class at Huset’s, the 410 Outlaw Sprint Cars, and was one of the track’s most dedicated drivers in its history.

DeWall was born into racing, the son of Hall of Fame member Marv DeWall. His first experience behind the wheel of a sprint car came in 1977 when he drove for fellow Jackson, Minn., resident Gabby Lusk.

He moved to Oklahoma for a short time in the early 1980’s and found racing success there in the 100-inch Sprint Cars before returning to Jackson and teaming with his brother and car-owner, Doug.

The DeWall brothers soon became a formidable foe on the local racing scene. Gary drove to 13 feature wins at Huset’s and also scored victories at Jackson, Huron and Rock Rapids, Iowa. His titles at Huset’s came in 1991 and 1994 and he was the track champion at Jackson in 1990. He also won the 1991 Jackson Nationals title.

His dedication to racing at Huset’s was evident as he never missed a night of competition at the track behind the wheel of the familiar No. 16 for 22 consecutive years.


In spite of beginning his career in driving stock cars at an age older than most, David Kruger went on to rank among the top drivers in the history of the Street Stock class in local racing.

Kruger began racing at the age of 36 in the Street Stocks at Rock Rapids in 1983. It took little time for the Steen, Minn., resident to find success on the track as he won his first of four titles at the track the following year. He eventually notched 40 career wins in the class, more than any other driver, and held the distinction of winning more races than any other driver in the history of the track for a number of years.

He also had success at other tracks, steering his silver No. 97 to 27 wins at Huset’s and the 1986 title while racking up 16 victories at Lake County Speedway. Kruger also won races at Hartford, Aberdeen, the Sioux Empire Fair, Jefferson and Slayton, Minn., and was the 1990 Jackson Nationals champion.

Kruger retired from full-time competition in 2007 but still occasionally gets behind the wheel when he has the opportunity.


Chuck McGillivray has won 13 track titles and more than 100 feature events in stock cars and sprint cars at local tracks.

McGillivray began his racing career at the age of 19 and won the championship in stock cars in his first full season of racing at his home track of Lake County Speedway in Madison. He soon became one of the top drivers in full-bodied race cars in the area, claiming six titles at Madison and one at Rock Rapids in addition to wins at Brookings, Huron, Hartford, Huset’s and the Sioux Empire Fair.

He made the difficult transition to sprint cars in the late 1980’s and was soon winning again, adding six more titles to his collection at Lake County along with victories at a number of other tracks in his trademark purple No. 101.

In 2004, he chose to move up to compete with the 410 Sprint Cars at Huset’s with his smaller 360 cubic inch engine. Top finishes became a rarity for him in the premier class not because of a lack of skill, but because of his under-powered car. But shortly after purchasing a 410 engine in 2011, he scored one of the most popular wins in the class in the track’s history and backed that up with another victory soon after.

McGillivray had a large number of fans due to his friendly and easy-going style and also because he was able to be competitive in spite of having a racing budget that was much less than most of his competitors.


Bill Smith has been active in local auto racing as a car owner and driver for 50 years.

As a 20-year-old in 1962, he built his first modified race car and competed at Jackson (Minn.) Speedway. Except for while serving overseas in the military in 1966, Smith raced at least once every year through 2011.

He was a regular competitor at local tracks into his late 50’s. After turning 50, he competed in every Knoxville (Iowa) Masters Classic race for drivers 50 and over, including the final one in 2011 at the age of 69. Some of his highlights as a driver included winning the Limited Sprint car title at Jackson in 1986 and a victory at the Clay County Fair in Spencer, Iowa.

Smith always owned the cars he drove. A machinist by trade, he built each of his modified racers and continued to build his own engines throughout his career in sprint cars. After retiring from regular competition as a driver, he remained active in racing as a car owner. Some of those who drove for him include his son, Jim, Brett Stegenga, Gordy Vogelaar, Justin Henderson, Tom Winter, Jody Rosenboom and Robby Wolfgang.

The Rushmore, Minn., resident also was the track promoter in Worthington, Minn., for several years in the 1990’s.