Race Results
July 9, 2006

Dobmeier, Martens, VanderWeide, and Barber all winners Sunday night

By Heather Riffel

(July 9, 2006-Brandon, SD) A full moon was out and the racing action was hot on Sunday night at Huset’s Speedway. Mark Dobmeier picked up his fourth win of the season in the Outlaw Sprints. Jordan Martens picked up his first win of the season in Sprint cars. Rick VanderWeide picked up his first win of the season in Late Model Stock Cars. Tommy Barber picked up his first win ever at Huset’s in the Hobby Stock division.

Dusty Zomer took the early race lead in the Outlaw Sprint feature. Behind him Mark Dobmeier and Chuck McGillivray were battling for second. The top five were all very close with Dobmeier challenging Zomer for the lead. Meanwhile McGillivray and Jake Peters were battling for third. Chad Meyer made his way from the seventh starting position up to third on lap 12. On lap 18 the caution came out when Zomer blew a tire which ended his night. On the restart Dobmeier had the race lead. Meyer and Peters continued to race for the second position. On the lap 20 the red flag came out when Meyer tipped over and started on fire. The fire was quickly extinguished. On the restart Peters tried everything he could but he was not able to challenge Dobmeier. Dobmeier went on to win followed by Peters, Gregg Bakker, McGillivray, and Gary DeWall.

Jordan Martens started on the outside pole and led all 18 laps of the Sprint feature. Martens was so strong tonight that no one challenged him for the lead. Behind him Lane Brenden and Donovan Peterson battled for the second position all race long until Peterson faded the last few laps and ended up finishing sixth. Martens picked up the trophy followed by Brenden, Brandon Rokusek, Jody Rosenboom, and Mitch Runge.

The Late Model Stock Car event featured 9 cautions. Jeff Kroger started on the pole and led the first part of the feature. He managed to lead through four caution periods. Rick VanderWeide made his way from the fifth starting position to take the lead on lap seven. There were a few more cautions while Lee Schlumbohm worked his way to the front to challenge for the lead. Matt Steuerwald also made a challenge for the lead. No one was able to get past VanderWeide and his was able to pick up the win. Steuerwald finished in second while Schlumbohm came in third. Howard Baartman picked up fourth and Gary Brown Jr. got fifth.

David Beman Jr. started on the pole but by lap two Tommy Barber had taken the lead in the Hobby Stock feature. No one was able to challenge Barber for the lead as he led the remainder of the race. Behind him there was lots of side by side racing action. On lap seven the caution came out for David Beman Jr. who had been running in the top five. Towards the end of the race Eric Taylor, Chad Graves, and Tom Cauwels battled for the second position. Barber held on to win the feature. He was followed by Taylor and Graves. Coming in fourth was Cauwels and Zeb Larsen rounded out the top five. Graves came from the eighth starting position and Larsen came from the sixteenth starting position.


Interstate Auto Center Outlaw Sprints

Heat #1: 1. Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, N.D.; 2. Bill Boles, Harris, Iowa; 3. Chad Meyer, Sioux Falls; 4. Gary Dewall, Jackson, Minn.; 5. Wade Nygaard, Fargo, N.D.; 6. Chuck McGillivray, Madison; 7. John Miller, Plankinton; 8. Cody Hansen, Nunda; 9. Jordan Martens, Harrisburg.

Heat #2: 1. Jake Peters, Sioux Falls; 2. Jody Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 3. Larry Ball, Knoxville, Iowa; 4. Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls; 5. John Lambertz, Sioux Falls; 6. Dusty Zomer, Brandon; 7. Micah Schliemann, Hartford; 8. Steve Ballenger, Harrisburg.

A Feature: 1. Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, N.D.; 2. Jake Peters, Sioux Falls; 3. Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls; 4. Chuck McGillivray, Madison; 5. Gary Dewall, Jackson, Minn.; 6. John Lambertz, Sioux Falls; 7. Larry Ball, Knoxville, Iowa; 8. Jody Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 9. Wade Nygaard, Fargo, N.D.; 10. Dusty Zomer, Brandon; 11. Bill Boles, Harris, Iowa; 12. Steve Ballenger, Harrisburg; 13. Jordan Martens, Harrisburg; 14. Cody Hansen, Nunda; 15. Chad Meyer, Sioux Falls; 16. John Miller, Plankinton; 17. Micah Schliemann, Hartford.


Wheel City Auto 360 Sprints

Heat #1: 1. Mitch Runge, Sioux Falls; 2. Jody Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 3. Brandon Rokusek, Geddes; 4. Donovan Peterson, Brookings; 5. Jordan Martens, Harrisburg; 6. Lane Brenden, Mitchell; 7. Terry Chester, Parker; 8. Nick Lusk, Jackson, Minn..

Heat #2: 1. Butch Hanssen, Sioux Falls; 2. Johnn Cressman, Hartford; 3. Eric McGillivray, Canton; 4. Randy Droescher, Larchwood, Iowa; 5. Dusty Wasmund, Sioux Falls; 6. Casey Abbas, Sioux Falls; 7. Justin Jacobsma, Hull, Iowa.

A Feature: 1. Jordan Martens, Harrisburg; 2. Lane Brenden, Mitchell; 3. Brandon Rokusek, Geddes; 4. Jody Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 5. Mitch Runge, Sioux Falls; 6. Donovan Peterson, Brookings; 7. Butch Hanssen, Sioux Falls; 8. Casey Abbas, Sioux Falls; 9. Randy Droescher, Larchwood, Iowa; 10. Eric McGillivray, Canton; 11. Dusty Wasmund, Sioux Falls; 12. Terry Chester, Parker; 13. Johnn Cressman, Hartford; 14. Nick Lusk, Jackson, Minn.; 15. Justin Jacobsma, Hull, Iowa.


Nordstrom's Late Model Stock Cars

Heat #1: 1. Lee Schlumbohm, Sioux Falls; 2. Howard Baartman, Sioux Falls; 3. Gary Brown Jr, Sioux Falls; 4. Jeff Kroger, Canton; 5. Chad Overgaard, Luverne, Minn.; 6. Shannon Frewaldt, Garretson; 7. Justin Glaser, Sioux Falls; 8. Donald Gerritsen Jr, Rock Rapids, Iowa.

Heat #2: 1. Matt Steuerwald, Madison; 2. Dale Furby, Sioux Falls; 3. Rick Vander Weide, Sioux Falls; 4. Jordan Heiman, Sioux Falls; 5. Jesse Akkerman, Luverne, Minn.; 6. Don Grems, Lester, Iowa; 7. Jesse Kroger, Harrisburg.

A Feature: 1. Rick Vander Weide, Sioux Falls; 2. Matt Steuerwald, Madison; 3. Lee Schlumbohm, Sioux Falls; 4. Howard Baartman, Sioux Falls; 5. Gary Brown Jr, Sioux Falls; 6. Chad Overgaard, Luverne, Minn.; 7. Jordan Heiman, Sioux Falls; 8. Jeff Kroger, Canton; 9. Donald Gerritsen Jr, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 10. Jesse Akkerman, Luverne, Minn.; 11. Justin Glaser, Sioux Falls; 12. Dale Furby, Sioux Falls; 13. Shannon Frewaldt, Garretson; 14. Don Grems, Lester, Iowa; 15. Jesse Kroger, Harrisburg.


Gary's Tire Service Hobby Stocks

Heat #1: 1. Jared Nytroe, Brandon; 2. David Beman Jr., Sioux Falls; 3. Brian Taylor, Sioux Falls; 4. Jeff Deighton, Sioux Falls; 5. Brian Tronson, Sioux Falls; 6. Zeb Larsen, Viborg.

Heat #2: 1. Chad Graves, Sioux Falls; 2. Tommy Barber, Brandon; 3. Eric Taylor, Sioux Falls; 4. Brock Hess, Sioux Falls; 5. Jason Beuckens, Sioux Falls.

Heat #3: 1. Justin Arends, Little Rock, Iowa; 2. Tom Cauwels, Luverne, Minn.; 3. Shaun Taylor, Sioux Falls; 4. Shane Klaassen, Little Rock, Iowa; 5. Dave Kennedy, Sioux Falls.

A Feature: 1. Tommy Barber, Brandon; 2. Eric Taylor, Sioux Falls; 3. Chad Graves, Sioux Falls; 4. Tom Cauwels, Luverne, Minn.; 5. Zeb Larsen, Viborg; 6. Shaun Taylor, Sioux Falls; 7. Jared Nytroe, Brandon; 8. Brian Taylor, Sioux Falls; 9. Jeff Deighton, Sioux Falls; 10. Justin Arends, Little Rock, Iowa; 11. Brock Hess, Sioux Falls; 12. Jason Beuckens, Sioux Falls; 13. David Beman Jr., Sioux Falls; 14. Dave Kennedy, Sioux Falls; 15. Brian Tronson, Sioux Falls; 16. Shane Klaassen, Little Rock, Iowa.