Race Results
September 21, 2003

Henderson Takes Cheater's Championship

By Shawn Neisteadt

(September 21, 2003-Sioux Falls, SD) Five thousand dollars were on the line as over 46 sprint car drivers faced off in the 39th annual National Cheater's Day.

Brock Dump raced from the pole to the top spot at the start of the sprint feature. Terry Reilly moved from the second row to the second position. The leaders raced into traffic only six laps into the 25 lap event. Off the second turn on that sixth lap it was Jake Peters rocketing into the lead. On the eighth lap Shane Stewart passed Reilly for third, but Reilly was able to retake in the second turn.

The red flag waved on the feature on the eighth lap when the leader, Peters, tangled with a lap car on the front stretch. Reilly, running third, had no where to go and slid into the slowed cars causing him to flip. All drivers were alright, but the first and third place cars went to the infield.

That gave the lead back to Dump. On the resulting restart Micah Schliemann slid to a stop after his front tire was clipped. Schliemann's race was also over. Stewart went for the lead on the restart and Henderson made it a three wide race off turn two. Henderson grabbed the lead entering turn three and Stewart was second. Terry McCarl was also moving up as he took fourth from Gregg Bakker. McCarl then took third on the next lap from Dump on lap nine. One lap later McCarl was in second as he overtook Stewart coming off turn four. Traffic became a factor on the sixteenth lap of the race as the top runners were caught up in the slower vehicles. The caution came out again with six laps to go as debris from the broken suspension on Dump's #12 sat on the track.

Henderson held off McCarl to add his name to the legendary list of Cheater's Day Champions. McCarl was second and third went to Stewart. Gregg Bakker was fourth and Chad Meyer was fifth.

"We had it set up about perfect," said James Taves after he led all 15 laps for the Late Model Stock Car win. Gary Brown, Jr was second and third went to Brad Klaassen. Kevin Larson finished fourth and fifth went to David Kruger.

Kip Myers charged from eighth to the lead of the Sportsmen feature only three laps into the event. Myers ran flawlessly to the win. Craig Hanish was second with Daryl Reverts third. Mike Forseth had a last lap pass on Rick Vander Wiede to take fourth. Vander Weide took fifth.

Scott Borkowski and Mike McGillivray battled back and forth the entire distance of the Hobby Stock feature. Borkowski took the win with a flat tire just ahead of McGillivray. Grady Myers was third and fourth went to Jerry Gronewold. Rounding out the top five was Tim Dann.

Jeremey Fedeler picked up the win of the Wild Ones feature. Brian Heiman took second and third went to Leslie Arnett. Brett Lease flipped on the opening lap, but was fine.

Jeff Hyink piloted the #98A to the win in the Deuces Wild feature. Rick Egan was second and third went to Jeremiah Bethke. The Deuces Wild feature showcased three and four wide racing.

Ethanol Race of Champions - 360 Sprints

Did not start a feature race: Terry Karn, Harrisburg; Ryan Bickett, Ramona; Chuck McGillivray, Madison; John Lambertz, Sioux Falls; Justin Saathoff, Bruce; Mark Toews, Spirit Lake, Iowa; Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; Chuck Swenson, Watertown; Miles Grein, Sioux Falls; Gordy Vogelaar, Worthington, Minn.

B Feature: 1. Brad Pake, Felton, Minn.; 2. Marlon Jones, Sioux Falls; 3. Steve Ballenger, Harrisburg; 4. Bill Boles, Harris, Iowa; 5. Brent Vonk, Hudson; 6. Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, N.D.; 7. Donovan Peterson, Brookings; 8. John Miller, Plankinton; 9. Randy Droescher, Larchwood, Iowa; 10. Lyle Howey III, Brookings; 11. Casey Abbas, Parker; 12. Ryan Voss, Okoboji, Iowa; 13. Bradley Nelson, Brookings; 14. Robert Danielson, Sioux Falls; 15. Rob Caho, Buffalo, Minn.; 16. Brandon Rokusek, Geddes; 17. Shawn VanWyhe, Lester, Iowa; 18. Jimmy Kouba, Byron, Minn.; 19. Tom Platt, Ashton, Iowa.

A Feature: 1. Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls; 2. Terry McCarl, Altoona, Iowa; 3. Shane Stewart;; 4. Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls; 5. Chad Meyer, Brandon; 6. Lynton Jeffrey, Des Moines, Iowa; 7. Dusty Zomer, Brandon; 8. Clint Garner, Sioux Falls; 9. Bill Boles, Harris, Iowa; 10. Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, N.D.; 11. Troy Meyer, Sioux Falls; 12. Brad Pake, Felton, Minn.; 13. Doug Martens, Ward; 14. Randy Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 15. John Miller, Plankinton; 16. Marlon Jones, Sioux Falls; 17. Brent Vonk, Hudson; 18. Steve Ballenger, Harrisburg; 19. Brock Dump, Lennox; 20. Donovan Peterson, Brookings; 21. Micah Schliemann, Hartford; 22. Terry Reilly, Watertown; 23. Jake Peters, Luverne, Minn.; 24. Wade Nygaard, Fargo, ND.

Late Model Stock Cars

A Feature: 1. James Taves, Glyndon, Minn.; 2. Gary Brown Jr, Sioux Falls; 3. Brad Klaassen, Adrian, Minn.; 4. Kevin Larson, Sioux Falls; 5. David Kruger, Sioux Falls; 6. Don Bickett, Ramona; 7. JJ Zebell, Parker; 8. Matt Steuerwald, Madison; 9. Perry Tschetter, Bridgewater; 10. Chad Schettler, Brandon; 11. Moose Schuldt, Sioux Falls; 12. Rick Goth, Madison; 13. Justin Glaser, Sioux Falls.

Sportsman Stock Cars

A Feature: 1. Kip Myers, Mitchell; 2. Craig Hanisch, SF; 3. Daryl Reverts, Humboldt; 4. Mike Forseth, Sioux Falls; 5. Rick Vander Weide, Sioux Falls; 6. John Fitzgerald, Bigelow, Minn.; 7. Kevin Spurgin, Madison; 8. Jeremiah Jordahl, Madison; 9. Kevin Kremin, Lismore, Minn.; 10. Kevin Broesder, George, Iowa; 11. Mel Elsberry, Orange City, Iowa; 12. Donald Gerritsen Jr, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 13. Richard Holbrook, Sioux Falls; 14. Chris Huisman, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 15. Russ Peterson, Sioux Falls; 16. Joseph Hofer, Mitchell.

Hobby Stocks

B Feature #1: 1. Mike McGillivray, Madison; 2. Jerry Groenwold, Worthington, Minn.; 3. Chad Anderson, Madison; 4. Paul Korthals, George, Iowa; 5. Aaron Penning, Dell Rapids; 6. Brett Larsen, Viborg; 7. Laura Mulder, Sioux Center, Iowa; 8. Shaun Jurrens, Little Rock, Iowa; 9. Jason Faber, Sioux Falls; 10. Johnny Monsees, Brookings.

B Feature #2: 1. Tony Rustad, Pipestone, Minn.; 2. Tim Waltner, Hartford; 3. Clinton Bruns, Little Rock, Iowa; 4. Jeff Deighton, Sioux Falls; 5. Zeb Larsen, Viborg; 6. Kevin Curtis, Winner; 7. Paul VanBeek, Doon, Iowa; 8. Jim Steinmetz, Letcher; 9. Broc Yesda, Hawarden, Iowa.

A Feature: 1. Scott Borkowski, Mitchell; 2. Mike McGillivray, Madison; 3. Grady Myers, Winner; 4. Jerry Groenwold, Worthington, Minn.; 5. Tim Dann, Hartford; 6. Justin Selken, Hartford; 7. Clinton Bruns, Little Rock, Iowa; 8. Bob Nash, Sioux Falls; 9. Paul Korthals, George, Iowa; 10. Jeff Deighton, Sioux Falls; 11. Tim Waltner, Hartford; 12. Chad Anderson, Madison; 13. Tony Rustad, Pipestone, Minn.; 14. Matthew Jensen, Humboldt; 15. Steve Bents, Rushmore, Minn..

Wild Ones (FWD)

A Feature: 1. Jeremey Fedeler, Madison; 2. Brian Heiman, Sioux Falls; 3. Leslie Arnett, Tea; 4. Derrick Nordstrom, Sioux Falls; 5. Tara Johnson, Sioux Falls; 6. Matt Larson, Crooks; 7. Brett Lease, Colman.

Deuces Wild (FWD)

A Feature: 1. Jeff Hyink, Sioux Falls; 2. Rick Egan, Sioux Falls; 3. Jeremiah Bethke, Sioux Falls; 4. Joe Hall, Sioux Falls; 5. Chad Larson, Madison; 6. Dave Kennedy, Sioux Falls; 7. Travis Christensen, Sioux Falls; 8. Keith Johnson, Sioux Falls; 9. Rachelle Knutson, Renner; 10. Rich Heiman, Canistota; 11. Jim Klutman, SF; 12. Scott Pekron, Sioux Falls; 13. Kurt Heinemann, Dell Rapids; 14. John Howe, Garretson; 15. Kermit Rose, Hartford.