Race Results
August 17, 2003

McCarl returns to Huset's victory lane; Hanssen takes first of season

By Shawn Neisteadt

(August 17, 2003-Sioux Falls, SD)  Ryan Voss grabbed the initial lead of the Outlaw sprint car feature on Sunday night as the green flag waved on the main event.  On the second lap Dennis Moore took the #0 into second place as he overtook Jim Smith. Wade Nygaard also advanced a position on the second lap as he passed Chuck McGillivray.  One lap later Nygaard moved into third as he passed Smith.  The third lap was also when the first lead change of the 25 lap race occurred.  Moore passed Voss as the came off turn for and took the lead.  McGillivray went on the offensive on lap five as he took fourth from Smith and Terry McCarl followed suit and moved into the top five.  Positions continued to shuffle on the sixth lap of the race as Nygaard took second from Voss and McCarl edged by McGillivray for fourth.

The red flag waved on lap eight when Johnn Cressman slammed into the turn three wall and flipped.  Cressman was unharmed in his first flip in Outlaw Sprint competition.

On the resulting restart, Voss lost the third position to McCarl.  One lap later McCarl drove past Nygaard in runt three to take second.  The drivers were working the tenth lap when McCarl drove passed Moore in turn four and into the lead.  Gary DeWall moved into the top five when he passed Voss on lap 12.

The race slowed again on lap 15 when Gregg Bakker met the backstretch wall and looped the #11x.  Bakker was unharmed but the car received heavy front end damage and was retired.

Moore mounted several charges at McCarl in the closing 10 laps, but was never able to retake the lead as McCarl, now a five time Knoxville champion, took his seventh win of the season at Huset's.  Moore finished second with Nygaard in third.  Chuck McGillivray finished a strong fourth with DeWall taking fifth.

With no laps counted in the 360 feature, the red flag was over the speedway as Dusty Zomer flipped.  Amazingly the car was able to return to action after changing the top win.  Terry Karn was the leader as the green flag waved again, but the red soon followed.  On the fourth lap, Ryan Bickett took his #17B into the turn three wall and fence in a wild ride.  Bickett walked away unharmed.

The car on the charge was Butch Hanssen as he took third from Eric McGillivray on lap seven then drove past Karn for the lead on the ninth lap.   The yellow waved again on lap 10 when McGillivray, who was in third, slowed on the speedway.

Hanssen went on to lead the second half of the race for his first win of the season at Huset's.  Second went to Micah Schliemann who started fifteenth.  Brock Dump was third and fourth went to Terry Reilly.  Karn rounded out the top five.

The Late Model Stock Car feature belonged to David Krueger as he led all 15 laps of the event to capture his first win of the 2003 season.  Matt Steuerwald was second and third went to Scott Freet.  Rick Goth finished fourth followed by Perry Tschetter.

Mike McGillivray took the lead of the Hobby Stock feature with four laps remaining and drove on to his second win of the weekend as he also won Saturday at Lake County Speedway.  Steve Eliason was second and third went to DJ Jones.  Colter Deutsch was fourth and Scott Borkowski finished fifth.

Huset's Speedway races again this Saturday with the 11th annual Gold Cup.  A regular points program will also run this Sunday.

Interstate Auto Center Outlaw Sprints

Heat #1: 1. Chuck McGillivray, Madison; 2. Jim Smith, Sheldon, Iowa; 3. Clint Garner, Sioux Falls; 4. Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls; 5. Gary Dewall, Jackson, Minn.; 6. John Cressman, Hartford (John Lambertz); 7. Ryan Voss, Okoboji, Iowa; 8. John Egeland, East Grand Forks, Minn.; 9. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg.

Heat #2: 1. Dennis Moore, Jr., Grinnell, Iowa; 2. Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls; 3. Terry McCarl, Altoona, Iowa; 4. Wade Nygaard, Fargo, N.D.; 5. Brad Pake, Felton, Minn.; 6. Randy Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 7. Jimmy Kouba, Byron, Minn.; 8. Micah Schliemann, Hartford.

A Feature: 1. Terry McCarl, Altoona, Iowa; 2. Dennis Moore, Jr., Grinnell, Iowa; 3. Wade Nygaard, Fargo, N.D.; 4. Chuck McGillivray, Madison; 5. Gary Dewall, Jackson, Minn.; 6. Brad Pake, Felton, Minn.; 7. Ryan Voss, Okoboji, Iowa; 8. Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls; 9. Clint Garner, Sioux Falls; 10. Jim Smith, Sheldon, Iowa; 11. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 12. Randy Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 13. John Egeland, East Grand Forks, Minn.; 14. Jimmy Kouba, Byron, Minn.; 15. Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls; 16. John Cressman, Hartford (John Lambertz); 17. Micah Schliemann, Hartford.

Lewis / Pepsi/ Dr. Pepper 360 Sprints

Heat #1: 1. Troy Meyer, Sioux Falls; 2. Joe Riedel, Ramona; 3. Terry Reilly, Watertown; 4. Mitch Runge, Sioux Falls; 5. Doug Martens, Ward; 6. Brandon Rokusek, Geddes; 7. Troy Vink, Sioux Falls.

Heat #2: 1. Brock Dump, Lennox; 2. Terry Karn, Harrisburg; 3. Butch Hanssen, Sioux Falls; 4. Micah Schliemann, Hartford; 5. Dusty Zomer, Brandon; 6. Brent Vonk, Hudson; 7. Cody Hansen, Nunda.

Heat #3: 1. Randy Droescher, Larchwood, Iowa; 2. Ryan Bickett, Ramona; 3. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 4. Eric McGillivray, Canton; 5. Lyle Howey III, Brookings; 6. Jim Smith, Sheldon, Iowa; 7. Brandon Buysse, Luverne, Minn..

B Feature: 1. Brent Vonk, Hudson; 2. Brandon Rokusek, Geddes; 3. Jim Smith, Sheldon, Iowa; 4. Troy Vink, Sioux Falls; 5. Cody Hansen, Nunda; 6. Brandon Buysse, Luverne, Minn..

A Feature: 1. Butch Hanssen, Sioux Falls; 2. Micah Schliemann, Hartford; 3. Brock Dump, Lennox; 4. Terry Reilly, Watertown; 5. Terry Karn, Harrisburg; 6. Mitch Runge, Sioux Falls; 7. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 8. Dusty Zomer, Brandon; 9. Randy Droescher, Larchwood, Iowa; 10. Troy Meyer, Sioux Falls; 11. Brent Vonk, Hudson; 12. Lyle Howey III, Brookings; 13. Jim Smith, Sheldon, Iowa; 14. Eric McGillivray, Canton; 15. Brandon Rokusek, Geddes; 16. Joe Riedel, Ramona; 17. Ryan Bickett, Ramona; 18. Doug Martens, Ward.

Nordstrom's Late Model Stock Cars

Heat #1: 1. David Kruger, Sioux Falls; 2. Chad Overgaard, Luverne, Minn.; 3. Scott Freet, Madison; 4. Don Bickett, Ramona; 5. Kevin Larson, Sioux Falls; 6. Jeff Kroger, Canton; 7. JJ Zebell, Parker.

Heat #2: 1. Perry Tschetter, Bridgewater; 2. Matt Steuerwald, Madison; 3. Dan Jensen, Humboldt; 4. Rick Goth, Madison; 5. Gary Brown Jr, Sioux Falls; 6. Howard Baartman, Sioux Falls.

A Feature: 1. David Kruger, Sioux Falls; 2. Matt Steuerwald, Madison; 3. Scott Freet, Madison; 4. Rick Goth, Madison; 5. Perry Tschetter, Bridgewater; 6. Chad Overgaard, Luverne, Minn.; 7. Don Bickett, Ramona; 8. JJ Zebell, Parker; 9. Howard Baartman, Sioux Falls; 10. Dan Jensen, Humboldt; 11. Jeff Kroger, Canton; 12. Gary Brown Jr, Sioux Falls; 13. Kevin Larson, Sioux Falls.

Gary's Tire Service Hobby Stocks

Heat #1: 1. Colter Deutsch, Kanaranzi, Minn.; 2. Chris Tiesler, Ellsworth, Minn.; 3. Aaron Penning, Dell Rapids; 4. David Beman Jr., Sioux Falls; 5. Randy Bruggeman, Brandon; 6. Jon DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa.

Heat #2: 1. Mike McGillivray, Madison; 2. Bob DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 3. DJ Jones, Sioux Falls; 4. Scott Borkowski, Mitchell; 5. Mike Buss, Luverne, Minn.; 6. Erik Beman, Dell Rapids.

Heat #3: 1. Steve Eliason, Brookings; 2. Matthew Jensen, Humboldt; 3. Lane Brenden, Mitchell; 4. Nick Bahr, Madison; 5. Billy/Brad Cowell, Steen, Minn..

B Feature: 1. Nick Bahr, Madison; 2. Mike Buss, Luverne, Minn.; 3. Jon DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 4. Billy/Brad Cowell, Steen, Minn.; 5. Randy Bruggeman, Brandon; 6. Erik Beman, Dell Rapids; 7. Lane Brenden, Mitchell.

A Feature: 1. Mike McGillivray, Madison; 2. Steve Eliason, Brookings; 3. DJ Jones, Sioux Falls; 4. Colter Deutsch, Kanaranzi, Minn.; 5. Scott Borkowski, Mitchell; 6. Chris Tiesler, Ellsworth, Minn.; 7. Aaron Penning, Dell Rapids; 8. Matthew Jensen, Humboldt; 9. Bob DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 10. Mike Buss, Luverne, Minn.; 11. Nick Bahr, Madison; 12. David Beman Jr., Sioux Falls.