Race Results
July 27, 2003

Garner Grabs second career Outlaw Win

By Shawn Neisteadt

(July 27, 2003-Sioux Falls, SD) Clint Garner ran from the second row to the lead of the Outlaw Sprint 25 lap feature in one lap Sunday night. On lap three, Jim Smith took second from Randy Rosenboom off turn two, but one lap later there was trouble. Smith spun on the exit of turn two. Rosenboom had no where to go and his Smith's car. Several other cars were involved in the incident including Gary DeWall, Jake Peters, Justin Henderson and Lynton Jeffrey.

On the resulting restart, Mark Dobmeier moved into the top five. Seven laps were in the books when Dobmeier took fourth from Dusty Ballenger. Terry McCarl followed and took fifth on lap eight. McCarl continued to follow Dobmeier on lap 14 when they both went by John Lambertz. Garner found himself in lap traffic on lap 15.

Things shook up on lap 20 when McCarl went to the low side of Dobmeier in turn two. McCarl slid up and the two cars touched. Dobmeier held his position, but Lambetz was able to reclaim fourth from McCarl. The yellow flag waved on lap 23 when Gregg Bakker looped his #11x in turn four.

Garner held on for his second win of the year with Chad Radel finishing a season best second place. Dobmeier was third with McCarl coming back to fourth. Henderson made a last lap pass of Lambertz to round out the top five.

"Excellent. This is better than excellent," said Randy Droescher after winning the 360 sprint feature. "We've been struggling at all the tracks. Hopefully we'll go forward from this point. I hope to win another one," he added. The win was his eighth career sprint car win at Huset's, and first since June of 1989. Dusty Zomer came from tenth to take second. Jake Peters came from ninth to finish inches ahead of Mitch Runge for third. Troy Meyer was fifth in the #17V.

JJ Zebell led the Late Model Stock Car feature from the start of the race until the white flag when he found Howard Baartman door to door with him. Baartman made the pass off the final turn stick to give him his second win in a row. Zebell was second and third went to Perry Tschetter. Gary Brown, Jr. was fourth and Dan Jensen was fifth.

Denton Potter claimed his second win of the season in Hobby Stock action. Jon DeBoer was second and third went to Bob DeBoer. Colter Deutsch was fourth and fifth went to Lane Brenden.

Huset's races again this Sunday night with the Second Annual Jay Egge Automatic Service All-Star Memorial twin feature night for the Sprint Car classes.

Interstate Auto Center Outlaw Sprints

Heat #1: 1. Clint Garner, Sioux Falls; 2. John Lambertz, Sioux Falls; 3. Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls; 4. Jim Smith, Sheldon, Iowa; 5. Chuck McGillivray, Madison; 6. Chad Radel, Sioux Falls; 7. Lynton Jeffrey, Des Monies, Iowa.

Heat #2: 1. Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls; 2. Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, N.D.; 3. Terry McCarl, Altoona, Iowa; 4. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 5. Gary Dewall, Jackson, Minn.; 6. Randy Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 7. Jake Peters, Luverne, Minn.; 8. Doug Martens, Ward.

A Feature: 1. Clint Garner, Sioux Falls; 2. Chad Radel, Sioux Falls; 3. Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, N.D.; 4. Terry McCarl, Altoona, Iowa; 5. Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls; 6. Lynton Jeffrey, Des Monies, Iowa; 7. John Lambertz, Sioux Falls; 8. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 9. Gary Dewall, Jackson, Minn.; 10. Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls; 11. Chuck McGillivray, Madison; 12. Doug Martens, Ward; 13. Jake Peters, Luverne, Minn.; 14. Jim Smith, Sheldon, Iowa; 15. Randy Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, Iowa.

Lewis / Pepsi/ Dr. Pepper 360 Sprints

Heat #1: 1. Jake Peters, Luverne, Minn.; 2. Mitch Runge, Sioux Falls; 3. Brad Cotton, Beresford; 4. Joe Riedel, Ramona; 5. Ryan Bickett, Ramona; 6. John Miller, Plankinton; 7. Troy Vink, Sioux Falls.

Heat #2: 1. Troy Meyer, Sioux Falls; 2. Randy Droescher, Larchwood, Iowa; 3. Dusty Zomer, Brandon; 4. Brock Dump, Lennox; 5. Gordy Vogelaar, Worthington, Minn.; 6. Lyle Howey III, Brookings; 7. Brian Fuchs, Bismarck, N.D..

Heat #3: 1. Shawn VanWyhe, Lester, Iowa; 2. Butch Hanssen, Sioux Falls; 3. Doug Martens, Ward; 4. Terry Reilly, Watertown; 5. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 6. Brent Vonk, Hudson.

A Feature: 1. Randy Droescher, Larchwood, Iowa; 2. Dusty Zomer, Brandon; 3. Jake Peters, Luverne, Minn.; 4. Mitch Runge, Sioux Falls; 5. Troy Meyer, Sioux Falls; 6. Butch Hanssen, Sioux Falls; 7. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 8. Shawn VanWyhe, Lester, Iowa; 9. Brock Dump, Lennox; 10. Doug Martens, Ward; 11. Terry Reilly, Watertown; 12. Gordy Vogelaar, Worthington, Minn.; 13. Joe Riedel, Ramona; 14. Lyle Howey III, Brookings; 15. Brad Cotton, Beresford; 16. Brent Vonk, Hudson; 17. Brian Fuchs, Bismarck, N.D.; 18. Ryan Bickett, Ramona; 19. John Miller, Plankinton; 20. Troy Vink, Sioux Falls.

Nordstrom's Late Model Stock Cars

Heat #1: 1. Perry Tschetter, Bridgewater; 2. Rick Goth, Madison; 3. Don Bickett, Ramona; 4. Howard Baartman, Sioux Falls; 5. David Kruger, Sioux Falls; 6. Jeff Kroger, Canton.

Heat #2: 1. JJ Zebell, Parker; 2. Dan Jensen, Humboldt; 3. Chad Overgaard, Luverne, Minn.; 4. Scott Freet, Madison; 5. Gary Brown Jr, Sioux Falls.

A Feature: 1. Howard Baartman, Sioux Falls; 2. JJ Zebell, Parker; 3. Perry Tschetter, Bridgewater; 4. Gary Brown Jr, Sioux Falls; 5. Rick Goth, Madison; 6. Dan Jensen, Humboldt; 7. Don Bickett, Ramona; 8. David Kruger, Sioux Falls; 9. Chad Overgaard, Luverne, Minn.; 10. Jeff Kroger, Canton; 11. Scott Freet, Madison.

Gary's Tire Service Hobby Stocks

Heat #1: 1. Billy Cowell, Steen, Minn.; 2. Steve Eliason, Brookings; 3. Nick Bahr, Madison; 4. Denton Potter, Larchwood, Iowa; 5. Lane Brenden, Mitchell; 6. Jim Ross, Sioux Falls; 7. Scott Borkowski, Mitchell.

Heat #2: 1. Aaron Penning, Dell Rapids; 2. Bob DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 3. Colter Deutsch, Kanaranzi, Minn.; 4. DJ Jones, Sioux Falls; 5. Jon DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 6. Tim Ralfs, Canton.

A Feature: 1. Denton Potter, Larchwood, Iowa; 2. Jon DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 3. Bob DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 4. Colter Deutsch, Kanaranzi, Minn.; 5. Lane Brenden, Mitchell; 6. Steve Eliason, Brookings; 7. Scott Borkowski, Mitchell; 8. Billy Cowell, Steen, Minn.; 9. Tim Ralfs, Canton; 10. Jim Ross, Sioux Falls; 11. DJ Jones, Sioux Falls; 12. Nick Bahr, Madison; 13. Aaron Penning, Dell Rapids.