Race Results
July 20, 2003

Henderson Tops Outlaw Class; Reilly in 360s

By Shawn Neisteadt

(July 20, 2003-Sioux Falls, SD) Randy Rosenboom took the initial lead of the 25 lap outlaw sprint feature. One lap into the event, Micah Schliemann took second from Chris Schirek and then the lead from Rosenboom on lap three. On the next lap, Lynton Jeffrey took second from Rosenboom. Five laps into the race, the lead went to Jeffrey as he took the spot from Schliemann.

The yellow flag waved on lap six when Jim Smith spun in turn two. Smith, whose car was damaged in a heat race incident, was able to restart the feature. Colin Northway took third on the restart. The race was seven laps old when Justin Henderson went around both Rosenboom and Chuck McGillivray and into fourth place. Terry McCarl took fifth from Rosenboom on lap eight. Henderson took third from Northway on lap nine and one lap later Northway lost fourth to McCarl. The leaders hit traffic on lap thirteen and one lap later Henderson moved by Schliemann off turn two and into second.

On the fifteenth lap Henderson took the lead from Jeffrey and McCarl took third at the same time from Schliemann. McCarl set his sights on second and Jeffrey and McCarl moved into the runner-up position on lap 17. The caution waved with six laps remaining for debris on the speedway.

The race shook up on the resulting restart. McCarl, running second to Henderson, got a great run off turn two while Henderson bobbled. McCarl's momentum took him up and over the left rear tire of Henderson. Henderson drove on but McCarl slowed and brought out the yellow flag on lap 20.

Henderson went on for the win, the first of the season for the defending co-champion. Mark Dobmeier was second and Jeffrey finished third. Northway was fourth and Gary DeWall rounded out the top five.

Terry Reilly took the lead of the 360 sprint feature one lap into the event and never looked back as the Watertown Wizard went on for his first win of the year. Brock Dump finished second and John Miller was third. Mitch Runge was fourth and Butch Hanssen came from fifteenth to take fifth.

Howard Baartman led the first ten laps of the Late Model Stock Car feature. On lap 11 it was Jeff Kroger's turn to lead. Baartman didn't give up and battled back and Kroger and Baartman ran even at the white flag. As they took the checkereds it was Baartman with the win and Kroger second. Gary Brown was third from eleventh and Chad Overgaard took fourth. David Kruger took fifth.

Aaron Penning took his first career win in Hobby Stocks at Huset's as he picked up the feature win. Colter Deutsch was a close second and third went to Steve Eliason. Lane Brenden finished fourth and Nick Bahr came back from an early race incident to take fifth.

Huset's Speedway has its Hall of Fame night this coming Sunday.

Interstate Auto Center Outlaw Sprints

Heat #1: 1. Terry McCarl, Altoona, Iowa; 2. Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, N.D.; 3. Chuck McGillivray, Madison; 4. Micah Schliemann, Hartford; 5. John Lambertz, Sioux Falls; 6. Chris Shirek, Thompson, N.D.; 7. Clint Garner, Sioux Falls; 8. Jim Smith, Sheldon, Iowa; 9. Greg Nikitenko, Minot, N.D..

Heat #2: 1. Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls; 2. Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls; 3. Lynton Jeffrey, Des Monies, Iowa; 4. Gary Dewall, Jackson, Minn.; 5. Colin Northway, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; 6. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 7. Randy Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 8. Wade Nygaard, Fargo, N.D.; 9. Roger Rager, Pequot Lakes, Minn..

A Feature: 1. Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls; 2. Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, N.D.; 3. Lynton Jeffrey, Des Monies, Iowa; 4. Colin Northway, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; 5. Gary Dewall, Jackson, Minn.; 6. Micah Schliemann, Hartford; 7. Terry McCarl, Altoona, Iowa; 8. Chuck McGillivray, Madison; 9. John Lambertz, Sioux Falls; 10. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 11. Wade Nygaard, Fargo, N.D.; 12. Randy Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 13. Chris Shirek, Thompson, N.D.; 14. Jim Smith, Sheldon, Iowa; 15. Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls; 16. Roger Rager, Pequot Lakes, Minn.; 17. Clint Garner, Sioux Falls; 18. Greg Nikitenko, Minot, N.D..

Lewis / Pepsi/ Dr. Pepper 360 Sprints

Heat #1: 1. John Miller, Plankinton; 2. Lyle Howey III, Brookings; 3. Joe Riedel, Ramona; 4. Terry Reilly, Watertown; 5. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 6. Troy Vink, Sioux Falls.

Heat #2: 1. Mitch Runge, Sioux Falls; 2. Ryan Bickett, Ramona; 3. Dusty Zomer, Brandon; 4. Troy Meyer, Sioux Falls; 5. Doug Martens, Ward; 6. Eric McGillivray, Canton.

Heat #3: 1. Brock Dump, Lennox; 2. Butch Hanssen, Sioux Falls; 3. Shawn VanWyhe, Lester, Iowa; 4. Brent Vonk, Hudson; 5. Randy Droescher, Larchwood, Iowa.

A Feature: 1. Terry Reilly, Watertown; 2. Brock Dump, Lennox; 3. John Miller, Plankinton; 4. Mitch Runge, Sioux Falls; 5. Butch Hanssen, Sioux Falls; 6. Brent Vonk, Hudson; 7. Dusty Zomer, Brandon; 8. Ryan Bickett, Ramona; 9. Joe Riedel, Ramona; 10. Troy Meyer, Sioux Falls; 11. Lyle Howey III, Brookings; 12. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 13. Doug Martens, Ward; 14. Shawn VanWyhe, Lester, Iowa; 15. Randy Droescher, Larchwood, Iowa; 16. Eric McGillivray, Canton; 17. Troy Vink, Sioux Falls.

Nordstrom's Late Model Stock Cars

Heat #1: 1. David Kruger, Sioux Falls; 2. JJ Zebell, Parker; 3. Perry Tschetter, Bridgewater; 4. Gary Brown Jr, Sioux Falls; 5. Scott Freet, Madison; 6. Jeff Kroger, Canton.

Heat #2: 1. Howard Baartman, Sioux Falls; 2. Rick Goth, Madison; 3. Don Bickett, Ramona; 4. Chad Overgaard, Luverne, Minn.; 5. Dan Jensen, Humboldt.

A Feature: 1. Howard Baartman, Sioux Falls; 2. Jeff Kroger, Canton; 3. Gary Brown Jr, Sioux Falls; 4. Chad Overgaard, Luverne, Minn.; 5. David Kruger, Sioux Falls; 6. Dan Jensen, Humboldt; 7. Scott Freet, Madison; 8. Perry Tschetter, Bridgewater; 9. Don Bickett, Ramona; 10. JJ Zebell, Parker; 11. Rick Goth, Madison.

Gary's Tire Service Hobby Stocks

Heat #1: 1. Billy Cowell, Steen, Minn.; 2. Steve Eliason, Brookings; 3. Nick Bahr, Madison; 4. Scott Borkowski, Mitchell; 5. David Beman Jr., Sioux Falls; 6. Tim Ralfs, Canton.

Heat #2: 1. Aaron Penning, Dell Rapids; 2. Colter Deutsch, Kanaranzi, Minn.; 3. Jon DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 4. Mike McGillivray, Madison; 5. Mike Buss, Luverne, Minn..

Heat #3: 1. DJ Jones, Sioux Falls; 2. Tim Dann, Hartford; 3. Bob DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 4. Lane Brenden, Mitchell; 5. Josh Klay, Magnolia, Minn..

A Feature: 1. Aaron Penning, Dell Rapids; 2. Colter Deutsch, Kanaranzi, Minn.; 3. Steve Eliason, Brookings; 4. Lane Brenden, Mitchell; 5. Nick Bahr, Madison; 6. Bob DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 7. Mike McGillivray, Madison; 8. DJ Jones, Sioux Falls; 9. Jon DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 10. Scott Borkowski, Mitchell; 11. Tim Ralfs, Canton; 12. Mike Buss, Luverne, Minn.; 13. David Beman Jr., Sioux Falls; 14. Billy Cowell, Steen, Minn.; 15. Tim Dann, Hartford; 16. Josh Klay, Magnolia, Minn..