Race Results
July 13, 2003

McCarl takes sixth, Peters gets back on track with 360

By Shawn Neisteadt

(July 13, 2003-Sioux Falls, SD) Ricky Logan pulled from the Outside of the front row to the lead as the 25 lap Outlaw Sprint feature began. One lap had been counted when the #60 of Colin Northway spun in turn two.

On the restart, the #101 of Chuck McGillivray went by Mark Dobmeier for fourth. Dobmeier retaliated and quickly retook fourth. The only red flag of the race waved on lap three when Clint Garner flipped the #55 in turn four. Garner walked away uninjured, but his night was done.

Dobmeier went from fourth to second on the restart as he passed Jim Smith and Dusty Ballenger. Terry McCarl took fourth on lap seven from Chuck McGillivray in turn one. Logan continued to lead as he ran into lap traffic on lap nine. McCarl took third on lap ten from Ballenger. Fourteen laps were in the books when McCarl took second from Dobmeier.

The yellow flag flew on lap 18 when the #1 of Chris Schirek got turned the wrong way. One lap after the restart, McCarl took the lead from Logan off turn four. Dobmeier took second from Logan on lap 21. McCarl went on to his sixth win of the year. Dobmeier was second and Logan settled for third. Ballenger was fourth and Lynton Jeffrey came from tenth to take fifth.

Ryan Bickett pulled into the lead at the start of the 18 lap NMRA 360 sprint feature. That lead lasted until turn four as the came to lap two when Jake Peters took the top spot. The yellow flag waved on lap five when Brent Vonk spun his #21V in turn four.

On the sixth lap of the race, Brock Dump took third from Dusty Ballenger. The field was working the tenth lap when lap traffic became a factor for the leaders. The yellow again waved on lap 11. This time it was Rob Danielson losing control. Dump was unable to miss the incident and the third place car was done for the night.

The race resumed, but Jake Peters was untouchable as he led the rest of the way to the win. Bickett was second. Butch Hanssen came from thirteenth to third and Shawn Van Wyhe was fourth. Ballenger rounded out the top five.

Rick Goth led the entire distance of the Late Model Stock Car feature to take the win. Chad Overgaard was second followed by Jeff Kroger. Gary Brown, Jr. was fourth and Matt Steuerwald was fifth.

Nick Bahr and Colter Deutsch battled to the finish for the win of the Hobby Stock feature. At the finish it was Deutsch scoring his fifth win of the season after starting this race from tenth. Bahr was second and third went to Tim Dann. Aaron Penning was fourth and Bob DeBoer rounded out the top five.

Huset's Speedway races again this Sunday night.

Interstate Auto Center Outlaw Sprints

Heat #1: 1. Terry McCarl, Altoona, Iowa; 2. Micah Schliemann, Hartford; 3. Colin Northway, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; 4. Chuck McGillivray, Madison; 5. Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, N.D.; 6. Lynton Jeffrey, Des Monies, Iowa; 7. Jim Smith, Sheldon, Iowa; 8. John Lambertz, Sioux Falls; 9. Randy Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, Iowa.

Heat #2: 1. Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls; 2. Clint Garner, Sioux Falls; 3. Jake Peters, Luverne, Minn.; 4. Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls; 5. Gary Dewall, Jackson, Minn.; 6. Ricky Logan, Little Rock, Ark.; 7. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 8. Chris Shirek, Thompson, N.D.; 9. Chad Radel, Sioux Falls. (DNS)

A Feature: 1. Terry McCarl, Altoona, Iowa; 2. Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, N.D.; 3. Ricky Logan, Little Rock, Ark.; 4. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 5. Lynton Jeffrey, Des Monies, Iowa; 6. Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls; 7. Chuck McGillivray, Madison; 8. John Lambertz, Sioux Falls; 9. Gary Dewall, Jackson, Minn.; 10. Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls; 11. Colin Northway, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; 12. Micah Schliemann, Hartford; 13. Jim Smith, Sheldon, Iowa; 14. Randy Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 15. Jake Peters, Luverne, Minn.; 16. Chris Shirek, Thompson, N.D.; 17. Clint Garner, Sioux Falls.

Lewis / Pepsi/ Dr. Pepper 360 Sprints

Heat #1: 1. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 2. Joe Riedel, Ramona; 3. Randy Droescher, Larchwood, Iowa; 4. Johnn Cressman, Hartford; 5. Shawn VanWyhe, Lester, Iowa; 6. John Miller, Plankinton; 7. Troy Vink, Sioux Falls.

Heat #2: 1. Jake Peters, Luverne, Minn.; 2. Lyle Howey III, Brookings; 3. Butch Hanssen, Sioux Falls; 4. Gordy Vogelaar, Worthington, Minn.; 5. Dusty Zomer, Brandon; 6. Eric McGillivray, Canton; 7. Robert Danielson, Sioux Falls.

Heat #3: 1. Ryan Bickett, Ramona; 2. Brent Vonk, Hudson; 3. Troy Meyer, Sioux Falls; 4. Brock Dump, Lennox; 5. Mitch Runge, Sioux Falls; 6. Terry Karn, Harrisburg.

A Feature: 1. Jake Peters, Luverne, Minn.; 2. Ryan Bickett, Ramona; 3. Butch Hanssen, Sioux Falls; 4. Shawn VanWyhe, Lester, Iowa; 5. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg; 6. Dusty Zomer, Brandon; 7. Gordy Vogelaar, Worthington, Minn.; 8. Lyle Howey III, Brookings; 9. Johnn Cressman, Hartford; 10. Troy Meyer, Sioux Falls; 11. John Miller, Plankinton; 12. Randy Droescher, Larchwood, Iowa; 13. Mitch Runge, Sioux Falls; 14. Eric McGillivray, Canton; 15. Joe Riedel, Ramona; 16. Brent Vonk, Hudson; 17. Troy Vink, Sioux Falls; 18. Brock Dump, Lennox; 19. Robert Danielson, Sioux Falls; 20. Terry Karn, Harrisburg.

Nordstrom's Late Model Stock Cars

Heat #1: 1. Chad Overgaard, Luverne, Minn.; 2. Howard Baartman, Sioux Falls; 3. Dan Jensen, Humboldt; 4. Scott Overgaard, Ellsworth, Minn.; 5. Matt Steuerwald, Madison; 6. Rick Goth, Madison; 7. Don Bickett, Ramona.

Heat #2: 1. Jeff Kroger, Canton; 2. David Kruger, Sioux Falls; 3. Scott Freet, Madison; 4. Perry Tschetter, Bridgewater; 5. Gary Brown Jr, Sioux Falls; 6. JJ Zebell, Parker.

A Feature: 1. Rick Goth, Madison; 2. Chad Overgaard, Luverne, Minn.; 3. Jeff Kroger, Canton; 4. Gary Brown Jr, Sioux Falls; 5. Matt Steuerwald, Madison; 6. Dan Jensen, Humboldt; 7. Howard Baartman, Sioux Falls; 8. David Kruger, Sioux Falls; 9. Scott Freet, Madison; 10. Scott Overgaard, Ellsworth, Minn.; 11. Perry Tschetter, Bridgewater; 12. Don Bickett, Ramona; 13. JJ Zebell, Parker.

Gary's Tire Service Hobby Stocks

Heat #1: 1. Steve Eliason, Brookings; 2. Mike McGillivray, Madison; 3. Josh Klay, Magnolia, Minn.; 4. Tim Ralfs, Canton; 5. Billy Cowell, Steen, Minn.; 6. Shaun Jurrens, Little Rock, Iowa.

Heat #2: 1. Colter Deutsch, Kanaranzi, Minn.; 2. DJ Jones, Sioux Falls; 3. Bob DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 4. Tim Dann, Hartford; 5. Walter Kiggins, Sioux Falls.

Heat #3: 1. Nick Bahr, Madison; 2. Lane Brenden, Mitchell; 3. Aaron Penning, Dell Rapids; 4. Jon DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 5. Scott Borkowski, Mitchell.

A Feature: 1. Colter Deutsch, Kanaranzi, Minn.; 2. Nick Bahr, Madison; 3. Tim Dann, Hartford; 4. Aaron Penning, Dell Rapids; 5. Bob DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 6. Walter Kiggins, Sioux Falls; 7. Lane Brenden, Mitchell; 8. Jon DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 9. DJ Jones, Sioux Falls; 10. Mike McGillivray, Madison; 11. Josh Klay, Magnolia, Minn.; 12. Billy Cowell, Steen, Minn.; 13. Steve Eliason, Brookings; 14. Tim Ralfs, Canton; 15. Shaun Jurrens, Little Rock, Iowa; 16. Scott Borkowski, Mitchell.