Race Results
September 21, 2002

Peters Takes Win to Start Cheater's Day

By Shawn Neisteadt

September 21, 2002-Brandon, SD-Jake Peters would not be denied, as one of the nation's hottest 360 Sprint Car drivers would take the preliminary win at the 38th running of the National Cheater's Day.

Peters jumped from the front row to the lead as the green flag waved, but the red flag waved before the lap could be counted.  Ryan Deighton tangled with a couple of cars in turn four and put his #1x on the wing.  Deighton would not be able to return to the race, but walked away uninjured.

The second start of the race had the same result, Peters pulling into the lead.  Tom Platt pulled into the second position and with one down, Micah Schliemann was into third.  On lap two, Schliemann took second from Platt, but Platt battled back to retake the spot on the other end of the speedway.  Schliemann and Platt continued to battle until Clint Garner joined the combat on lap four.  Garner pulled by Platt entering turn three for third place.  Six laps were in the books when the leaders ran into lap traffic.  One lap later, Garner came to a stop in turn two, and would retire with steering malfunctions.

The field challenged, but would not be able to stop Peters as he motored to the win.  Schliemann was second.  Gary DeWall drove Mike Sandvig's #7 from tenth to third.  Dusty Ballenger was sent to the back for jumping a restart and charged back to take fourth.  Steve Ballenger came from eleventh to take fifth.

Darrin Korthals took the lead of the Short Track Stock Car feature on lap two and held off Gary Brown Jr. on the final lap to take the win.  Brown, the 2002 National NMRA Champion, finished second after starting eighth.  James Taves led the opening two laps and finished third.  Howard Baartman crossed the line fourth and David Kruger finished fifth.

Jeremiah Jordahl had the early lead of the Sportsmen feature, but dropped out on lap two.  That gave the lead to Craig Hanisch who led the remaining 10 laps for the win.  Rick Vander Weide made a several attempts at the top spot but finished second.  Kip Meyers came from fourteenth to third and Joey Hofer was fourth.  Moose Schuldt rounded out the top five.  The race was red flagged on lap two when the #67 of Grady Meyers flipped in turn four.  Meyers was able to walk away unharmed.

Laura Mulder led the last 10 laps of the Hobby Stock feature to take the win.  Mike McGillivray, the 2002 Lake County Speedway champion, finished second and third went to Tim Dann.  Justin Selken finished fourth just ahead of James Brower.

Clem Egan took the win of the FWD Street Stock feature.  The win of the first Deuces Wild feature went to Jim Pyle and Bill Harmon won the second.

360 Sprints

B Feature: 1. 101 Chuck McGillivray; 2. 3 Dusty Ballenger; 3. 55 Lyle Howey III; 4. 71r Ryan Anderson; 5. 5L Eric Lutz; 6. 1W Chad Meyer; 7. 0 Jeff Davis; 8. 11r Joe Riedel

A Feature: 1. 57 Jake Peters; 2. 9 Micah Schliemann; 3. 7 Gary DeWall; 4. 3 Dusty Ballenger; 5. 2D Steve Ballenger; 6. 101 Chuck McGillivray; 7. 55 Lyle Howey III; 8. 25x Tom Platt; 9. 77 Troy Vink; 10. 24 Randy Droescher; 11. R19 Mike Mc Mahan; 12. 21V Brent Vonk; 13. 46 Robert Danielson; 14. 1 Dusty Zomer; 15. 7B Brian Bruns; 16. 40 Clint Garner; 17. 99 Shawn Van Wyhe; 18. 1X Ryan Deighton

Short Track Stock Cars

A Feature: 1. 11K Darrin Korthals; 2. 22 Gary Brown Jr; 3. 11T James Taves; 4. 82 Howard Baartman; 5. 97 David Kruger; 6. 29Z JJ Zebell; 7. 17 Don Bickett; 8. 98 Dan Jensen; 9. 69 Scott Freet; 10. 35 John De Groot; 11. 3 Roger Muecke; 12. 17S Kevin Soldatke; 13. 20 Perry Tschetter; 14. 3G Daryl Green

Sportsman Stock Cars

A Feature: 1. 94H Craig Hanisch; 2. 6 Rick Vander Weide; 3. 8 Kip Meyers; 4. 2 Joseph Hofer; 5. 5h Moose Schuldt; 6. 51 Billy Prouty; 7. c4 Casey Hurney; 8. 17M Mike Grass; 9. 00 Gary Mulder; 10. 2G Daryl Green; 11. 01 Ryan Van Emmerick; 12. 18Z Don Zeman; 13. 27x Russ Englund; 14. 3j Jeremiah Jordahl; 15. 67 Grady Meyers; 16. 1R Richard Holbrook

Hobby Stocks

A Feature: 1. kg95 Laura Mulder; 2. 15 Mike McGillivray; 3. 40 Tim Dann; 4. 111 Justin Selken; 5. 80 James Brower; 6. 1 Scott Borkowski; 7. 1x Aaron Penning; 8. 9 Andy Wieczorek; 9. 2EZ Tracy Thomson; 10. c38 Brett Larsen; 11. 15X Matt Parish; 12. y4 David Beman Jr.; 13. 2x Tony Rustad

Front Wheel Drives

A Feature #1: 1. 98A Jim Pyle; 2. 8 Chad Larson; 3. 27 Jason Schwader; 4. 1X Clint Lantgen; 5. 22 Jeff Claussen; 6. 8x Shaun Ryan; 7. 7x Mark Borkowski; 8. 45 Jim Klutman; 9. Y34 Danny Harmon

A Feature #2: 1. 34 Bill Harmon; 2. 33 Jeremiah Bethke; 3. 74 John Myers; 4. 7 Keith Johnson; 5. 21x Dave Kennedy; 6. 20 Travis Christensen; 7. 6K Jack Boatright; 8. 21 Josh Bethke; 9. 1 Myron Prussman

Wild Ones

A Feature: 1. 98 Clem Egan; 2. 1 Jeremy Fedeler; 3. 28g Leslie Arnett; 4. 24 Jeff Hyink; 5. 38 Brian Heiman; 6. 26T Tara Johnson; 7. 115 Leonard Shugars