Race Results
July 28, 2002

Droud Claims Win on Huset's Hall of Fame Night

By Shawn Neisteadt

(July 28, 2002-Brandon, SD)  Sunday's Hall of Fame Night not only honored the five respected inductees, it also paid tribute to long time race fan, Dean Valen, with a 30 lap and $3,000 to win Outlaw Sprint "A" feature.

Miles Grein set the pace for the main event, but it was Chad Meyer that took the lead as the large field of cars entered the first turn. Also on the opening lap, Don Droud Jr moved from his second row starting position into second.  As the field worked the second lap, Terry McCarl moved into the top five as he took a spot from Lynton Jeffery.  On the same lap, Grein lost the fourth spot to McCarl as he moved into the position.  Roger Rager and McCarl battled for the third place on the third lap, with McCarl eventually taking it off turn two.

Out front, Meyer continued to lead as the top runners entered lap traffic on the fourth circuit of the speedway.  The leaders were in very thick traffic as Meyer made a bold move and went four wide with the slower traffic.  The moved paid off as it allowed him to distance himself from Droud momentarily.  On the ninth lap, Droud had reeled in Meyer and the top two cars ran side by side off turn four.  Droud slid into the lead entering one and Meyer retaliated and moved back in front of Droud.  But, it was Droud with the run off turn two that put the TK Concrete #55 the lead.

The red flag waved 12 laps into the race when Leonard Lee, who was running in fifth place at the time, flipped entering turn one.  The incident collected Gregg Bakker and Jeffery.  All three drivers walked away, but they were all out for the rest of the event.

When the green flag waved again, it took another four laps for the leaders to catch the tail of the field.  On lap 19, McCarl slid past Meyer for the second place exiting turn four.  Meyer was able to strike back as the moved past McCarl in turn two on lap 20 and back into second.

Out front it was Droud slicing and dicing through the traffic to pick up his first Huset's win since the Ethanol Race of Champions in 2000.  Meyer crossed the line second and McCarl was third.  Gary DeWall came from twelfth to take fourth and Justin Henderson came all the way from sixteenth to fifth.  "It was good.  It was something we needed in a bad way," said Droud after the victory.  "Tonight I was more relaxed here than ever.  The car was really nice.  When it's like that it's a lot easier to be relaxed."  The heat races were won by Terry Karn, Jim Smith and McCarl.

Ryan Bickett was leading the 360 feature two laps into the event when Johnn Cressman bit into the turn one wall sending his Ford #56 for a wild ride on top of the cement.  Cressman's car was badly damaged, but he was uninjured.

Mike McMahan took the lead on lap three.  John Miller moved into second on the third lap.  One lap later, Micah Schliemann rocketed around Miller and McMahan and moved into the lead.  The race slowed again on lap six when Dusty Ballenger slowed on the speedway.  On the resulting restart, Clint Garner moved into second.  It was lap 11 when the leaders ran into slower traffic.  In the traffic the battle for the lead between Schliemann and Garner heated up.  On lap 14, Schliemann was using the high side to get by a slower car, and Garner dropped to the bottom.  Garner was first to exit turn four and the race had another new leader.

Garner would not give up the top spot to take his sixth win of the season.  Schliemann was second and Miller finished third.  Fourth went to Terry Reilly and Gordy Vogelaar rounded out the top five.  Miller, Randy Droescher and Eric McGillivray took heat race wins.

Perry Tschetter led the Short Track Stock Car feature for the first 12 laps, but his engine would ignite in flames.  The fire forced Tschetter to give up the lead with only two laps remaining.  That gave the top spot to Rick Goth and he would lead the final two laps to take his second win of 2002.  Scott Freet was second and Don Bickett was third.  Dan Jensen was fourth and Chad Overgaard rounded out the top five.  Goth and Tschetter won the heat races.

Colter Deutsch took the lead of the Hobby Stock "A" with two laps remaining en route to his fifth win of the season.  Mike Kiggins was second and Aaron Penning was third.  Fourth went to Don Gerritsen Jr and Josh Klay rounded out the top five.  Deutsch, Kiggins and Gerritsen won the heat races.

410 Outlaw Sprints

Heat #1: 1. 7 Terry Karn; 2. 16L Leonard Lee; 3. 38 Miles Grein; 4. 11 Troy Meyer; 5. 16 Gary Dewall; 6. 4h Micah Schliemann; 7. 101 Chuck McGillivray; 8. 4 Kenny Hansen

Heat #2: 1. 33 Jim Smith; 2. 13 Mark Dobmeier; 3. 1W Chad Meyer; 4. 6 Roger Rager; 5. 57x Jake Peters; 6. R19 Justin Henderson; 7. 12L John Lambertz; 8. 31m Kim Muntefering

Heat #3: 1. 24 Terry McCarl; 2. 11X Gregg Bakker; 3. 55 Don Droud, Jr.; 4. 4k Lynton Jeffrey; 5. 8H Butch Hanssen; 6. 25 Chad Radel; 7. 14R Randy Rosenboom

A Feature: 1. 55 Don Droud, Jr.; 2. 1W Chad Meyer; 3. 24 Terry McCarl; 4. 16 Gary Dewall; 5. R19 Justin Henderson; 6. 4h Micah Schliemann; 7. 13 Mark Dobmeier; 8. 6 Roger Rager; 9. 8H Butch Hanssen; 10. 25 Chad Radel; 11. 101 Chuck McGillivray; 12. 38 Miles Grein; 13. 12L John Lambertz; 14. 14R Randy Rosenboom; 15. 4 Kenny Hansen; 16. 33 Jim Smith; 17. 31m Kim Muntefering; 18. 11X Gregg Bakker; 19. 4k Lynton Jeffrey; 20. 16L Leonard Lee; 21. 7 Terry Karn; 22. 57x Jake Peters; 23. 11 Troy Meyer

360 Sprints

Heat #1: 1. 24 Randy Droescher; 2. 3 Terry Reilly; 3. 17B Ryan Bickett; 4. 2D Dusty Ballenger; 5. 77 Troy Vink

Heat #2: 1. 35 Eric McGillivray; 2. 9 Micah Schliemann; 3. 17v Clint Garner; 4. 4K Kory Rawstern; 5. 11r Joe Riedel; 6. 55 Lyle Howey III

Heat #3: 1. 24M John Miller; 2. R19 Mike Mc Mahan; 3. 75 Gordy Vogelaar; 4. 56 Johnn Cressman; 5. 21V Brent Vonk; 6. 99 Shawn Van Wyhe

A Feature: 1. 17v Clint Garner; 2. 9 Micah Schliemann; 3. 24M John Miller; 4. 3 Terry Reilly; 5. 75 Gordy Vogelaar; 6. 4K Kory Rawstern; 7. 17B Ryan Bickett; 8. 24 Randy Droescher; 9. 21V Brent Vonk; 10. 77 Troy Vink; 11. 35 Eric McGillivray; 12. 99 Shawn Van Wyhe; 13. 11r Joe Riedel; 14. 55 Lyle Howey III; 15. R19 Mike Mc Mahan; 16. 2D Dusty Ballenger; 17. 56 Johnn Cressman

Short Track Stock Cars

Heat #1: 1. 20 Perry Tschetter; 2. 29Z JJ Zebell; 3. 17 Don Bickett; 4. 82 Howard Baartman; 5. 98 Dan Jensen; 6. 12 Ray Feltman Jr; 7. 97 David Kruger

Heat #2: 1. 90 Rick Goth; 2. 69 Scott Freet; 3. 80 Jeff Kroger; 4. 22 Gary Brown Jr; 5. 42 Chad Overgaard; 6. 43 Mark Henry

A Feature: 1. 90 Rick Goth; 2. 69 Scott Freet; 3. 17 Don Bickett; 4. 98 Dan Jensen; 5. 42 Chad Overgaard; 6. 22 Gary Brown Jr; 7. 29Z JJ Zebell; 8. 82 Howard Baartman; 9. 43 Mark Henry; 10. 12 Ray Feltman Jr; 11. 80 Jeff Kroger; 12. 97 David Kruger; 13. 20 Perry Tschetter

Hobby Stocks

Heat #1: 1. 2K Mike Kiggins; 2. 9b Bob DeBoer; 3. 28x Josh Klay; 4. 42 Steve Eliason; 5. 40 Tim Dann

Heat #2: 1. 27 Donald Gerritsen Jr; 2. 98 Matt Jensen; 3. 1x Aaron Penning; 4. 20t Adam Thielbar; 5. 33 Nick Bahr

Heat #3: 1. 5 Colter Deutsch; 2. 1 Scott Borkowski; 3. y4 David Beman Jr.; 4. 16j Jon DeBoer; 5. 41m Marty Grilley

A Feature: 1. 5 Colter Deutsch; 2. 2K Mike Kiggins; 3. 1x Aaron Penning; 4. 27 Donald Gerritsen Jr; 5. 28x Josh Klay; 6. 98 Matt Jensen; 7. 16j Jon DeBoer; 8. 9b Bob DeBoer; 9. 40 Tim Dann; 10. y4 David Beman Jr.; 11. 41m Marty Grilley; 12. 33 Nick Bahr; 13. 20t Adam Thielbar; 14. 1 Scott Borkowski; 15. 42 Steve Eliason