Race Results
May 5, 2002

Meyer Takes Win as Huset's Season Takes Green

By Shawn Neisteadt

(Brandon, SD-May 5, 2002) Huset's Speedway began the long anticipated 2002 season when the green flag fell on May 5.  It looked as if the opening of the season would be delayed again, but Mother Nature cooperated and allowed for some great racing. Just hours before the program began; threatening weather passed through the area, but missed the speedway by four miles

Wade Nygaard pulled into the top spot of the Outlaw Sprint main event at the drop of the green flag.  Chad Meyer also had a great start as he maneuvered from the fourth starting spot into second.  Pennzoil World of Outlaws star, Craig Dollansky, rocketed from the fifth row to the fifth position before completing one circuit of the 3/8 mile oval.

Two laps into the race, Butch Hanssen exploded the power plant of his Holiday Inn #8H, and drew the first caution flag of the event.  On the restart, Kenny Hansen took over the third position with Dollansky following around Chad Radel for the fourth spot.

After battling side by side since the restart, Meyer completed a slide job on Nygaard on lap seven to take the lead.  The leaders entered traffic on the next revolution, but the yellow flag would soon wave again.  The second and final caution flew on lap nine as Chuck McGillivray suffered mechanical problems and slowed on the speedway.

As the field hit the stripe for the restart, Nygaard bobbled.  Hansen and Dollansky took advantage of the mistake and moved up to second and third.  At the same time, Gregg Bakker overtook the fifth spot from Terry McCarl.  McCarl, the five time track champion, came back with a vengeance on lap 13.  Exiting turn two, McCarl reclaimed fifth from Bakker and then dove under Nygaard in turn three to take fourth.

Dollansky inched by Hansen on lap 17, but would not be able to run down the VJ Julious Motorsports #1w of Meyer.  The Polydome #7 of Dollansky finished second with Hansen in a strong third. McCarl crossed the line fourth and Bakker rounded out the top five.

"We've been here long enough, we know what it takes," said Meyer after the win.  "You can't think they have you beat before you go out there."  The win was Meyer's fourth career Huset's Speedway Outlaw Sprint feature win.  Heat races were won by Meyer and Nygaard.  McCarl set quick time with a lap of 10.79 seconds.

In NMRA 360 Sprint competition, it took seven laps for Clint Garner to rim ride into the lead.  Garner lined up in the sixth position, and was up to third on the lap six restart.  The race was red flagged six laps into it, as the Heald Enterprises #1x of Ryan Deighton took a nasty end-over-end ride down the front stretch. The car landed in a heap, but Deighton walked away uninjured.

One lap after racing resumed, Garner drove around the outside of Lyle Howey III to take the lead.  Garner never looked back and went home with his second trophy of the weekend.   Mark Slendy finished second.  Micah Schliemann came from eighth to finish in third with Howey following in fourth.  Fifth place went to rookie, Brock Dump.

NMRA 360 sprint heat races were won by Howey, Dump, Shawn Van Whye and Terry Reilly.  Mike McMahan won the "B" feature.

JJ Zebell led all 15 laps of the Short Track Stock Car feature to claim his first career Huset's Speedway victory.  Defending rack champion, Gary Brown, charged hard to finish second.  Third went to the Mopar #43 of Mark Henry.  Chad Overgaard and Rick Goth rounded out the top five.  Don Bickett and Chris Ellingson won the heat races.

Huset's Speedway races again on Mother's Day, next Sunday.  Outlaw Sprint qualifications begin at 7:30 with racing following at 8 pm sharp.

410 Outlaw Sprints

Qualifications: 1. 24 Terry McCarl, Pleasant Hill, IA, 10.791; 2. 7X Craig Dollansky, Elk River, MN, 10.828; 3. 16 Gary Dewall, Jackson, MN, 11.126; 4. R19 Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.155; 5. 11X Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.308; 6. 71 Dennis Moore, Jr., Grinnell, IA, 11.370; 7. 1W Chad Meyer, Brandon, SD, 11.394; 8. 4 Kenny Hansen, Nunda, SD, 11.617; 9. 25 Chad Radel, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.837; 10. 9 Wade Nygaard, Fargo, ND, 11.884; 11. 7 Terry Karn, Harrisburg, SD, 12.219; 12. 2X Steve Ballenger, Harrisburg, SD, 12.250; 13. 11 Troy Meyer, Sioux Falls, SD, 12.401; 14. 8H Butch Hanssen, Rapid City, SD, 12.412; 15. 101 Chuck McGillivray, Madison, SD, 12.737; 16. 14R Randy Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, IA, 12.825

Heat #1: 1. 9 Wade Nygaard; 2. 4 Kenny Hansen; 3. R19 Justin Henderson; 4. 7X Craig Dollansky; 5. 71 Dennis Moore, Jr.; 6. 2X Steve Ballenger; 7. 11 Troy Meyer; 8. 101 Chuck McGillivray

Heat #2: 1. 1W Chad Meyer; 2. 25 Chad Radel; 3. 16 Gary Dewall; 4. 11X Gregg Bakker; 5. 24 Terry McCarl; 6. 8H Butch Hanssen; 7. 14R Randy Rosenboom; 8. 7 Terry Karn

A Feature: 1. 1W Chad Meyer; 2. 7X Craig Dollansky; 3. 4 Kenny Hansen; 4. 24 Terry McCarl; 5. 11X Gregg Bakker; 6. 9 Wade Nygaard; 7. 16 Gary Dewall; 8. 71 Dennis Moore, Jr.; 9. 25 Chad Radel; 10. 11 Troy Meyer; 11. 2X Steve Ballenger; 12. 14R Randy Rosenboom; 13. R19 Justin Henderson; 14. 101 Chuck McGillivray; 15. 8H Butch Hanssen

360 Sprints

Heat #1: 1. 99 Shawn Van Whye; 2. 9 Micah Schliemann; 3. 51 Doug Martens; 4. 28 Mitch Runge; 5. 17B Ryan Bickett; 6. 56 Johnn Cressman

Heat #2: 1. 12 Brock Dump; 2. 77 Troy Vink; 3. 4K Kory Rawstern; 4. 17 Lee Goos Jr.; 5. R19 Mike Mc Mahan; 6. 2 Kevin Ingle

Heat #3: 1. 3 Terry Reilly; 2. 22X Kevin Droll; 3. 1X Ryan Deighton; 4. 33 Jim Smith; 5. 24 Randy Droescher

Heat #4: 1. 55 Lyle Howey III; 2. 1K Mark Slendy; 3. 17v Clint Garner; 4. 35 Eric McGillivray; 5. 2D Dusty Ballenger

B Feature: 1. R19 Mike Mc Mahan; 2. 2D Dusty Ballenger; 3. 2 Kevin Ingle; 4. 17v Clint Garner; 5. 56 Johnn Cressman; 6. 24 Randy Droescher

A Feature: 1. 17v Clint Garner; 2. 1K Mark Slendy; 3. 9 Micah Schliemann; 4. 55 Lyle Howey III; 5. 12 Brock Dump; 6. 28 Mitch Runge; 7. 3 Terry Reilly; 8. 17 Lee Goos Jr.; 9. 77 Troy Vink; 10. 22X Kevin Droll; 11. R19 Mike Mc Mahan; 12. 35 Eric McGillivray; 13. 33 Jim Smith; 14. 99 Shawn Van Whye; 15. 51 Doug Martens; 16. 2D Dusty Ballenger; 17. 1X Ryan Deighton; 18. 4K Kory Rawstern

Short Track Stock Cars

Heat #1: 1. 17 Don Bickett; 2. 42 Chad Overgaard; 3. 98 Dan Jensen; 4. 43 Mark Henry; 5. 80 Jeff Kroger; 6. 20 Perry Tschetter

Heat #2: 1. 2 Chris Ellingson; 2. 90 Rick Goth; 3. 29Z JJ Zebell; 4. 22 Gary Brown Jr; 5. 82 Howard Baartman

A Feature: 1. 29Z JJ Zebell; 2. 22 Gary Brown Jr; 3. 43 Mark Henry; 4. 42 Chad Overgaard; 5. 90 Rick Goth; 6. 82 Howard Baartman; 7. 98 Dan Jensen; 8. 2 Chris Ellingson; 9. 17 Don Bickett; 10. 80 Jeff Kroger; 11. 20 Perry Tschetter