Race Results
September 2, 2001

DeWall claims win, Brown takes "Dash for Cash"

By Shawn Neisteadt

Brandon, SD-Tim Monson and Scott Fokken led the field of Outlaw Sprints to their final green flag of the 2001 season.  Before one lap could be put into the books though, Chad Meyer, who had started eighth, lost the handle of his Wilmer Motorsports #1w and spun on the front stretch.  Several cars would tag each other, and Meyer's car would go nose over tail through the air.  The incident also ended the night for Jake Peters.  Each driver would walk away uninjured, but their Huset's Speedway 2001 season ended 20 laps too soon. Again, the field started, and again it was Monson who claimed the lead.  Gary DeWall moved into the second position on the start.  On lap three, Don Droud Jr. moved around DeWall in turn two to take second, and passed Monson entering turn three to take the lead.  Luck was not on Droud's side though, as something in the driveline would break on lap six sending the RPM Engine Development #1M to the infield. DeWall held the restart lead and would open the margin over the next laps.  Gregg Bakker took second position from Monson exiting turn four of lap 12 and began to reel in DeWall, who was in lap traffic. With two laps remaining, Bakker had caught DeWall and it looked as if the lead may be challenged.  But, while battling for third with Justin Henderson, Monson looped the Woodke racing #1wx in turn two and brought out the caution. DeWall brought the field to the green and held off Bakker for the two-lap shootout to take his first win of the season.  Bakker finished second.  Henderson, who set his third Nordica qualification fast time of the season with a lap of 11.442, finished third.  John Lambertz and Chad Radel rounded out the top five. "I'd just as soon not had the yellow," said DeWall, pilot of the Lev Enterprises #16.  "You don't know like Gregg Bakker and Justin (Henderson) who are good cushion runners, so I moved back to the line where I was fast."

"It feels pretty good, I don't know what else to say," said Gary Brown after taking the win in the Nordstrom's Late Model Stock Car 30-lap dash for cash.   Lee Schlumbohm led the first ten laps of the event up to the first "equalizing" yellow flag.  Schlumbohm also led the next ten laps that took the field up to the pit stop yellow flag.  During the pit stop, each cars crew would have to add five gallons of fuel and change each front tire.  The first crew to exit the pits and pick up the $500 bonus was Don Bickett, which also gave him the restart lead. On the restart, Bickett lost the lead as his trunk lid flew off causing a caution and sending him to the back.  Dan Jensen held the lead, but on lap 27, Gary Brown overtook the lead and would go on to claim the $2500 prize.  Jensen finished second with Chad Overgaard in third.  Fourth went to Brad Wollman and Lee Schlumbohm rounded out the top five.

Mitch Runge took the lead of the 360 Sprint feature from Kevin Droll on lap four, and never relinquished the spot to put the Texaco Pocket rocket into victory lane.  Dusty Ballenger, the new national NMRA point leader, finished second.  Terry Reilly came from tenth to finish third.  Mike Ellingson and Kevin Droll rounded out the top five.

Rob Anderson led all 15 laps of the Late Model Stock Car feature to take the win.  Lee Schlumbohm finished second after starting seventh.  Ray Feltman came from eighth to finish third with Howard Baartman finishing fourth.  Matt Steuerwald and Jeff Kroger got together at the finish line slamming each car into the outside retaining wall.  When all was sorted out, it was Steuerwald that had inched out Kroger for the final top five position.

410 Outlaw Sprints

Qualifications: 1. R19 Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.442; 2. 1M Don Droud, Jr., Lincoln, NE, 11.629; 3. 25 Chad Radel, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.750; 4. 12L John Lambertz, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.795; 5. 16 Gary Dewall, Jackson, MN, 11.827; 6. 1 Scott Fokken, Hartford, SD, 11.828; 7. 1WX Tim Monson, Lakefield, MN, 11.839; 8. 11X Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.955; 9. 1W Chad Meyer, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.970; 10. 4 Kenny Hansen, Nunda, SD, 12/125; 11. 57 Jake Peters, Wagner, SD, 12.147; 12. 101 Chuck McGillivray, Madison, SD, 12.319; 13. 14R Randy Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, IA, 12.419; 14. 31m Kim Muntefering, Mitchell, SD, 12.881; 15. X Chuck Swenson, Watertown, SD, No Time

Heat #1: 1. 1W Chad Meyer; 2. 16 Gary Dewall; 3. 57 Jake Peters; 4. 1WX Tim Monson; 5. R19 Justin Henderson; 6. 25 Chad Radel; 7. 14R Randy Rosenboom; 8. X Chuck Swenson

Heat #2: 1. 4 Kenny Hansen; 2. 11X Gregg Bakker; 3. 1 Scott Fokken; 4. 1M Don Droud, Jr.; 5. 12L John Lambertz; 6. 101 Chuck McGillivray; 7. 31m Kim Muntefering

A Feature: 1. 16 Gary Dewall; 2. 11X Gregg Bakker; 3. R19 Justin Henderson; 4. 12L John Lambertz; 5. 25 Chad Radel; 6. 1 Scott Fokken; 7. X Chuck Swenso; 8. 1WX Tim Monson; 9. 101 Chuck McGillivray; 10. 14R Randy Rosenboom; 11. 4 Kenny Hansen; 12. 31m Kim Muntefering; 13. 1M Don Droud, Jr.; 14. 57 Jake Peters; 15. 1W Chad Meyer

"7-UP/Lewis/Pepsi" 360 Sprints

Heat #1: 1. 24 Randy Droescher; 2. 9 Micah Schliemann; 3. 35 Eric McGillivray; 4. 17 Lee Goos Jr.; 5. 55 Lyle Howey III; 6. 00 Greg Mulder; 7. 17B Ryan Bickett

Heat #2: 1. 2D Dusty Ballenger; 2. 75 Gordy Vogelaar; 3. 22X Kevin Droll; 4. 4K Kory Rawstern; 5. 2k Kevin Ingle; 6. 21 Tim Krueger

Heat #3: 1. 18 Gary Johnson; 2. 2 Mike Ellingson; 3. 3tw Terry Reilly; 4. 8 Butch Hanssen; 5. 23 Steve Haman; 6. 77 Troy Vink; 7. 3c Chase Wilson

Heat #4: 1. 28 Mitch Runge; 2. 47 Brett Stegenga; 3. 24M John Miller; 4. 51 Doug Martens; 5. 33 Bill Smith; 6. 11XS Donovan Peterson

B Feature: 1. 55 Lyle Howey III; 2. 2k Kevin Ingle; 3. 11XS Donovan Peterson; 4. 33 Bill Smith; 5. 23 Steve Haman; 6. 77 Troy Vink; 7. 3c Chase Wilson; 8. 21 Tim Krueger; 9. 00 Greg Mulder; 10. 17B Ryan Bickett

A Feature: 1. 28 Mitch Runge; 2. 2D Dusty Ballenger; 3. 3tw Terry Reilly; 4. 2 Mike Ellingson; 5. 22X Kevin Droll; 6. 47 Brett Stegenga; 7. 9 Micah Schliemann; 8. 75 Gordy Vogelaar; 9. 17 Lee Goos Jr.; 10. 8 Butch Hanssen; 11. 4K Kory Rawstern; 12. 24M John Miller; 13. 35 Eric McGillivray; 14. 55 Lyle Howey III; 15. 24 Randy Droescher; 16. 2k Kevin Ingle; 17. 18 Gary Johnson; 18. 51 Doug Martens; 19. 11XS Donovan Peterson; 20. 33 Bill Smith

Nordstrom's Late Model Stock Cars

Heat #1: 1. 22 Gary Brown Jr; 2. 80 Jeff Kroger; 3. 3 Matt Steuerwald; 4. 00 Lee Schlumbohm; 5. 97 David Kruger; 6. 82 Howard Baartman; 7. 9 Brad Wollman; 8. 17 Don Bickett

Heat #2: 1. 85 Rob Anderson; 2. 10 Dale Furby; 3. 20 Perry Tschetter; 4. 98 Dan Jensen; 5. 175 Ray Feltman Jr; 6. 42 Chad Overgaard; 7. 29Z JJ Zebell

A Feature: 1. 85 Rob Anderson; 2. 00 Lee Schlumbohm; 3. 175 Ray Feltman Jr; 4. 82 Howard Baartman; 5. 80 Jeff Kroger; 6. 3 Matt Steuerwald; 7. 10 Dale Furby; 8. 97 David Kruger; 9. 17 Don Bickett; 10. 22 Gary Brown Jr; 11. 20 Perry Tschetter; 12. 9 Brad Wollman; 13. 42 Chad Overgaard; 14. 98 Dan Jensen; 15. 29Z JJ Zebell