Race Results
June 17, 2001

McCarl, Howey, Baartman celebrate Fathers' Day with wins

By Shawn Neisteadt

Brandon, SD-After winning the 360 Nationals and the Outlaw Sprint features the night before in Knoxville, Terry McCarl looked to cap off the Fathers' Day weekend by taking his third win in two nights. McCarl wasted no time, literally, and set the Nordica Qualifications quick time with a lap of 11.02 seconds on the 3/8-mile speedway. As the green flag dropped on the 25 lap Outlaw Sprint feature, Kenny Hansen pulled away from fellow front row starter, Clint Garner.  Wade Nygaard pulled the Stamart car past Garner and held the second position.  On the second lap, Skip Jackson pulled the VerMeer Motorsports #55 by Garner and Matt Wasmund and was running third, but Garner put up a battle and reclaimed the third spot. Don Droud Jr. gained a top five position on the following lap, but wasn't done as he followed Jackson towards the front.  Hansen continued to lead, but Jackson and Droud were in hot pursuit.  Droud, who started eighth, passed Jackson on the ninth lap and set his sights on Hansen. Droud claimed the lead position with Jackson following him through the dense lap traffic and by Hansen, but the yellow flag would come out for Nygaard's spun car in turn three.  Because the scoring goes back to the last completed lap, Hansen reclaimed the lead ahead of Droud and Jackson. As the field restart in lap ten, Droud again passed Hansen and now held the lead, and ninth position starter, Gary DeWall passed Jackson for the third spot. DeWall held onto the low line and made his way by Hansen and pulled side by side with Droud.  The racing was interrupted on the thirteenth lap due to debris on the speedway.  Droud held the restart lead, but DeWall was looking for the top spot.  Hansen held third with McCarl following him, but as the green flag again waved, McCarl passed Hansen and set his sights on DeWall.  McCarl made the pass on DeWall in turn two of the following lap, but would bobble and allow the Lev Wings #16 car of DeWall to reclaim the second position.  The two held that running order until McCarl again passed DeWall on lap 18. Droud was again in heavy traffic.  The slower moving vehicles held up the RPM Engine Development #1m and allowed McCarl to erase the lead Droud had built up.  With four laps remaining, Droud dropped to the low groove to pass a lapper. The move allowed McCarl to claim the lead, which he would never relinquish.  Droud finished second.  Gregg Bakker finished third followed by DeWall and Jackson. "It's no disgrace to be beat by Terry," said Droud after the race. "You learn from it, build a little more character, and come back next week. John Lambertz, Tim Monson, and Nygaard claimed heat race wins.

Dusty Ballenger came off the front row to lead all but the last fifty feet of the 18 lap NMRA 360 sprint feature.  Lyle Howey, who had started one row behind Ballenger, followed in the second position and through the extremely thick and challenging lap traffic until the yellow flag waved with only three laps remaining.  Ballenger and Howey used opposite lines on the last three laps of the event; Ballenger used the cushion, while Howey used the short way around the track. On the final lap, the two cars entered the third turn with Ballenger having a slight edge over Howey, but as Ballenger traveled through the corner, the car broke loose and allowed Howey to make up the difference.  The two came off the corner wheel to wheel, but as they crossed the finish line, Howey held the lead by a few inches.    Kory Rawstern came from the fifth row to finish third.  Buck Wilson and Brett Stegenga rounded out the top five. "The yellow came out and I thought it was probably over," said Howey on the lap 15 caution.  "It was our night tonight." Heat races went to Mark Slendy, Randy Droescher, and Ballenger.

Howard Baartman led every lap of the NMRA Late Model Stock Car feature to claim his first win of the season.  Jeff Kroger came to the line second.  Dale Furby, Brad Wollman, and Ray Feltman Jr. rounded out the top five. "When you've got Raymond putting the car together for you, you better do something," said Baartman, the racing grandfather.  "That was great."

410 Outlaw Sprints

Qualifications: 1. 24 Terry McCarl, Pleasant Hill, IA, 11.023; 2. 16 Gary Dewall, Jackson, MN, 11.068; 3. 1M Don Droud, Jr., Lincoln, NE, 11.128; 4. 1W Chad Meyer, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.312; 5. 55 Skip Jackson, Knoxville, IA, 11.461; 6. 11X Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.489; 7. 57 Jake Peters, Wagner, SD, 11.572; 8. 4W Matt Wasmund, Worthington, MN, 11.582; 9. 83 Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.595; 10. 9 Wade Nygaard, Fargo, ND, 11.760; 11. 25 Chad Radel, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.763; 12. 40 Clint Garner, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.838; 13. 4 Kenny Hansen, Nunda, SD, 11.885; 14. 1WX Tim Monson, Lakefield, MN, 11.895; 15. 12L John Lambertz, Sioux Falls, SD, 11.951; 16. 1 Scott Fokken, Hartford, SD, 12.025; 17. 14R Randy Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, IA, 12.124; 18. 53 Steve Ballenger, Harrisburg, SD, 12.240; 19. X Chuck Swenson, Watertown, SD, 12.287; 20. 33 Bill Smith, Worthington, MN, 12.780; 21. 101 Chuck McGillivray, Madison, SD, 12.806

Heat #1: 1. 12L John Lambertz; 2. 11X Gregg Bakker; 3. 1M Don Droud, Jr.; 4. 40 Clint Garner; 5. 1 Scott Fokken; 6. X Chuck Swenson; 7. 83 Justin Henderson

Heat #2: 1. 1WX Tim Monson; 2. 55 Skip Jackson; 3. 4W Matt Wasmund; 4. 16 Gary Dewall; 5. 25 Chad Radel; 6. 14R Randy Rosenboom; 7. 33 Bill Smith

Heat #3: 1. 9 Wade Nygaard; 2. 24 Terry McCarl; 3. 4 Kenny Hansen; 4. 1W Chad Meyer; 5. 57 Jake Peters; 6. 53 Steve Ballenger; 7. 101 Chuck McGillivray

A Feature: 1. 24 Terry McCarl; 2. 1M Don Droud, Jr.; 3. 11X Gregg Bakker; 4. 16 Gary Dewall; 5. 55 Skip Jackson; 6. 4 Kenny Hansen; 7. 57 Jake Peters; 8. 1W Chad Meyer; 9. 4W Matt Wasmund; 10. 40 Clint Garner; 11. 1WX Tim Monson; 12. 25 Chad Radel; 13. 1 Scott Fokken; 14. 101 Chuck McGillivray; 15. 12L John Lambertz; 16. 14R Randy Rosenboom; 17. 9 Wade Nygaard; 18. 53 Steve Ballenger; 19. X Chuck Swenson; 20. 33 Bill Smith; 21. 83 Justin Henderson

"7-UP/Lewis/Pepsi" 360 Sprints

Heat #1: 1. 1K Mark Slendy; 2. 20 Joe Peterson; 3. 3b Buck Wilson; 4. 4K Kory Rawstern; 5. 99 Shawn Van Whye 6. 51 Doug Martens

Heat #2: 1. 2D Dusty Ballenger; 2. 28 Mitch Runge; 3. 8 Butch Hanssen; 4. 24M John Miller; 5. 77 Troy Vink; 6. 3a Rick Adams

Heat #3: 1. 24 Randy Droescher; 2. 55 Lyle Howey III; 3. 47 Brett Stegenga; 4. 23 Steve Haman; 5. Y4 David Beman Jr.

A Feature: 1. 55 Lyle Howey III; 2. 2D Dusty Ballenger; 3. 4K Kory Rawstern; 4. 3b Buck Wilson; 5. 47 Brett Stegenga; 6. 23 Steve Haman; 7. 1K Mark Slendy; 8. 24M John Miller; 9. 99 Shawn Van Whye; 10. 17 Lee Goos Jr.; 11. 11 Bob Gilliland; 12. 28 Mitch Runge; 13. 20 Joe Peterson; 14. 77 Troy Vink; 15. 24 Randy Droescher; 16. 3a Rick Adams; 17. Y4 David Beman Jr.; 18. 8 Butch Hanssen; 19. 11XS Donovan Peterson; 20. 51 Doug Martens

Nordstrom's Late Model Stock Cars

Heat #1: 1. 5 Moose Schuldt; 2. 82 Howard Baartman; 3. 3 Matt Steuerwald; 4. 9 Brad Wollman; 5. 20 Perry Tschetter; 6. 98 Dan Jensen; 7. 17 Don Bickett

Heat #2: 1. 10 Dale Furby; 2. 22 Gary Brown Jr; 3. 80 Jeff Kroger; 4. 175 Ray Feltman Jr; 5. 00 Lee Schlumbohm; 6. 85 Rob Anderson

A Feature: 1. 82 Howard Baartman; 2. 80 Jeff Kroger; 3. 10 Dale Furby; 4. 9 Brad Wollman; 5. 175 Ray Feltman Jr; 6. 22 Gary Brown Jr; 7. 3 Matt Steuerwald; 8. 00 Lee Schlumbohm; 9. 85 Rob Anderson; 10. 98 Dan Jensen; 11. 20 Perry Tschetter; 12. 17 Don Bickett; 13. 5 Moose Schuldt