Race Results
June 3, 2001

McCarl schools 'em; Runge claims first career win

By Shawn Neisteadt

Brandon, SD-With two wins already in the books this season for Terry McCarl, could anybody stop him?  Twenty-seven outlaw sprints took to the high-banked 3/8-mile oval to attempt to do so.  Don Droud Jr. set the fast time of the evening with a lap time of 10.74 seconds in the Nordica qualifications. Wade Nygaard and Dennis Moore led the field of outlaw sprints to the green flag of the 25-lap outlaw sprint main event.  Moore pulled in the lead while coming off turn two.  Kenny Hansen took the second position from Nygaard on lap six and Terry McCarl had already climbed from the ninth starting position to fifth. With only seven of the scheduled 25 laps completed, Moore ran into lap traffic and began to pick and choose his way through them.  On the following lap, McCarl claimed the fourth spot by passing Justin Henderson.  One lap after taking fourth, McCarl rocketed by Hansen and Nygaard to take over the second place and set his sights on Moore. Two cars bumped each other and the wall as Moore prepared to lap them.  The flaw by the slower drivers forced Moore to check up and allowed McCarl to pull within a corner of Moore's Dee Zee sprinter.  Droud moved into the third position on lap eleven just in time to watch McCarl dive under Moore to take the lead.  Moore dropped to the bottom of the speedway and tried a turn four slide job on McCarl, but Moore would come just short of reclaiming the lead. McCarl held on for the remaining ten laps to put the Bosma Poultry sprinter in victory lane for the third time this season.  Moore finished second with Droud in close pursuit.  Henderson and Skip Jackson rounded out the top five. Gary DeWall won the "B" feature.  Heat race wins went to Nygaard, McCarl and Mark Dobmeier.

Not only for the first time at Huset's, but also for the first time in his career, Mitch Runge put his car in the winner's circle by winning the 360 sprint main event. Runge took the lead from fellow front row starter, Dusty Ballenger, as the two entered the first corner as the race began.  On lap three, Bill Fredin and John Miller battled each other for the fourth position, with Miller eventually winning the battle.   Runge caught up to traffic on lap nine, and the young driver kept using the high line to work his way around the speedway.  Ballenger, running in a comfortable second, ran into the turn one wall and flipped the A&B Auto car several times.  Ballenger walked away uninjured. Runge piloted his Gas Stop and Pocket Rocket machine from the lap 11 restart to the finish seven laps later to claim the win.  Miller finished second followed by Doug Martens.  Butch Hanssen came from the last starting position to finish fourth.  Lyle Howey finished fifth. Ballenger and Runge won the heat races.

Dale Furby claimed the early lead of the 16-lap Late Model Stock Car feature, but wouldn't be able to fight off challenges by Gary Brown after a restart. The only caution flag of the event waved as JJ Zebell bumped the wall and got caught with another cars bumper.  Zebell stopped on the speedway bringing out the caution. On the restart, Furby pulled into turn one and used the high line, but Brown dove under him and drove by to claim the lead.  Ray Feltman, the current points leader, passed Don Bickett and Jeff Kroger to take the third position with ten laps remaining. Brown held on to claim his second feature win of the season.  Furby finished second followed by Feltman, Mark DeBoer and Brad Wollman. "I don't really think about it," commented Brown on running close to the wall.  "It seems like a lot of guys don't run it up there." Heat race wins went to Brown and Furby.

410 Outlaw Sprints

Qualifications: 1. 1M Don Droud, Jr., Lincoln, NE; 2. 24 Terry McCarl, Pleasant Hill, IA; 3. 55 Skip Jackson, Knoxville, IA; 4. 11X Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls, SD; 5. 16 Gary Dewall, Jackson, MN; 6. 25 Chad Radel, Sioux Falls, SD; 7. 57 Jake Peters, Wagner, SD; 8. 83 Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls, SD; 9. 1W Chad Meyer, Sioux Falls, SD; 10. 24C Chad Hillier, Sedro Woolley, WA; 11. R19 Micah Schliemann, Sioux Falls, SD; 12. 5T Mark Toews, Spirit Lake, IA; 13. 1WX Tim Monson, Lakefield, MN; 14. 4 Kenny Hansen, Nunda, SD; 15. 71 Dennis Moore, Jr., Grinnell, IA; 16. 1 Scott Fokken, Hartford, SD; 17. 53 Steve Ballenger, Harrisburg, SD; 18. 9 Wade Nygaard, Fargo, ND; 19. 13 Mark Dobmmeier, Grand Forks, ND; 20. 10 Shane Liebig, Rapid Cty, SD; 21. 11 Troy Meyer, Sioux Falls, SD; 22. 14R Randy Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, IA; 23. 8 John Bridgeford, Crooksbon, MN; 24. 12L John Lambertz, Sioux Falls, SD; 25. 2D Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg, SD; 26. 101 Chuck McGillivray, Madison, SD; 27. 27c Jim Cress, Mt Vernon, WA

Heat #1: 1. 9 Wade Nygaard; 2. 5T Mark Toews; 3. 71 Dennis Moore, Jr.; 4. 55 Skip Jackson; 5. 1W Chad Meyer; 6. 25 Chad Radel; 7. 14R Randy Rosenboom; 8. 2D Dusty Ballenger; 9. 11 Troy Meyer

Heat #2: 1. 24 Terry McCarl; 2. 10 Shane Liebig; 3. 4 Kenny Hansen; 4. 83 Justin Henderson; 5. 53 Steve Ballenger; 6. R19 Micah Schliemann; 7. 16 Gary Dewall; 8. 101 Chuck McGillivray; 9. 12L John Lambertz

Heat #3: 1. 13 Mark Dobmmeier; 2. 1M Don Droud, Jr.; 3. 1WX Tim Monson; 4. 24C Chad Hillier; 5. 57 Jake Peters; 6. 11X Gregg Bakker; 7. 1 Scott Fokken; 8. 27c Jim Cress; 9. 8 John Bridgeford

B Feature: 1. 16 Gary Dewall; 2. 14R Randy Rosenboom; 3. 101 Chuck McGillivray; 4. 2D Dusty Ballenger; 5. 1 Scott Fokken; 6. 27c Jim Cress; 7. 11 Troy Meyer; 8. 12L John Lambertz; 9. 8 John Bridgeford

A Feature: 1. 24 Terry McCarl; 2. 71 Dennis Moore, Jr.; 3. 1M Don Droud, Jr.; 4. 83 Justin Henderson; 5. 55 Skip Jackson; 6. 4 Kenny Hansen; 7. 57 Jake Peters; 8. 16 Gary Dewall; 9. 9 Wade Nygaard; 10. 5T Mark Toews; 11. 24C Chad Hillier; 12. 11X Gregg Bakker; 13. 25 Chad Radel; 14. 13 Mark Dobmmeier; 15. 1WX Tim Monson; 16. 1W Chad Meyer; 17. 53 Steve Ballenger; 18. 14R Randy Rosenboom; 19. 10 Shane Liebig; 20. R19 Micah Schliemann

"7-UP/Lewis/Pepsi" 360 Sprints

Heat #1: 1. 2D Dusty Ballenger; 2. 51 Doug Martens; 3. 14 Bill Fredin; 4. 4K Kory Rawstern; 5. 11 Bob Gilliland; 6. 10 Jeremy Kasten; 7. 77 Troy Vink; 8. 8 Butch Hanssen

Heat #2: 1. 28 Mitch Runge; 2. 24M John Miller; 3. 17 Lee Goos Jr.; 4. 24 Randy Droescher; 5. 55 Lyle Howey III; 6. 23 Steve Haman; 7. 47 Brett Stegenga; 8. 3b Buck Wilson

A Feature: 1. 28 Mitch Runge; 2. 24M John Miller; 3. 51 Doug Martens; 4. 8 Butch Hanssen; 5. 55 Lyle Howey III; 6. 14 Bill Fredin; 7. 17 Lee Goos Jr.; 8. 24 Randy Droescher; 9. 47 Brett Stegenga; 10. 10 Jeremy Kasten; 11. 23 Steve Haman; 12. 77 Troy Vink; 13. 4K Kory Rawstern; 14. 3b Buck Wilson; 15. 11 Bob Gilliland; 16. 2D Dusty Ballenger

Nordstrom's Late Model Stock Cars

Heat #1: 1. 22 Gary Brown Jr; 2. 00 Lee Schlumbohm; 3. 80 Jeff Kroger; 4. 17 Don Bickett; 5. 9 Brad Wollman; 6. 98 Dan Jensen; 7. 85 Rob Anderson; 8. 3 Matt Steuerwald

Heat #2: 1. 10 Dale Furby; 2. 29Z JJ Zebell; 3. 175 Ray Feltman Jr; 4. 20 Perry Tschetter; 5. 23 Mark De Boer; 6. 5 Moose Schuldt; 7. 82 Howard Baartman; 8. 31 Russ Peterson

A Feature: 1. 22 Gary Brown Jr; 2. 10 Dale Furby; 3. 175 Ray Feltman Jr; 4. 23 Mark De Boer; 5. 9 Brad Wollman; 6. 80 Jeff Kroger; 7. 17 Don Bickett; 8. 00 Lee Schlumbohm; 9. 3 Matt Steuerwald; 10. 98 Dan Jensen; 11. 85 Rob Anderson; 12. 29Z JJ Zebell; 13. 5 Moose Schuldt; 14. 20 Perry Tschetter; 15. 82 Howard Baartman; 16. 31 Russ Peterson