Race Results
May 14, 2000

By: Justin Zoch

It was a crisp, cool spring evening at Huset's Speedway and a large crowd saw three- time defending track champion Terry McCarl of Pleasant Hill, IA wait until the second turn on the final lap before streaking under Sioux Falls native Gregg Bakker to take the win at the traditional Mother's Day Opener.

The 25 lap Fast by Foley 410 Outlaw sprint A-main saw Micah Schliemann and Bakker lead the field to the line, but it was Jackson, MN's Gary DeWall in his #16 that dove low and took the lead on the first lap. Schliemann retook the lead briefly before Bakker charged his Yamaha #11X into the lead. A red flag for a Chuck McGillivray flip in turn one bunched the field on lap 6. McGillivray was uninjured. On the restart, Don Droud Jr. jumped from 4th to second and began applying pressure to the leader. Meanwhile, the #55 car of Terry McCarl was working his way up from the fourth row. McCarl had passed both Droud Jr. and Schliemann in turn four, but the move was negated when Grinnell, IA's Dennis Moore Jr., who was running in the top 10, did a series of high-flying end-over-end flips in turn 3 and brought out the race's second red flag. Moore Jr. was also uninjured in the very violent wreck.    Bakker led the field down for the lap 16 restart followed by Droud Jr., Schliemann, McCarl, and DeWall. McCarl worked past Schliemann and Droud Jr. and as flagman Doug Clark threw the white flag, McCarl drove the Jensen Construction #55 low in turn one and slid in front of the hapless Bakker. Bakker tried to go low in turns three and four put simply didn't have the momentum and finished about 4 car lengths behind in second. McCarl picked up the win followed by Bakker, Droud Jr., Schliemann, and DeWall. McCarl and Matt Wassmund won the heat races and the Nordica Quick Qualifier was Dennis Moore Jr.

In the 7-Up/Lewis/Pepsi 360 Sprint feature, it was Justin Henderson who benefitted from Chad Meyer's misfortune in order to claim the feature win. Meyer's #1W car jumped out into the early lead and appeared to be on his way to an easy victory. However, on lap 10, the #11 of Bob Gilliland made contact with the front stretch wall and collected the leader as he spun to the infield. Meyer's rear-end sustained heavy damage, and he was forced to the pit area. Mitchell's Kim Muntefering picked up the lead on the restart and led until Henderson cruised past to take the feature win. Henderson, driving the Dather #83, is making a full time return to Huset's after a year off and currently leads the points chase. Following Henderson it was the #11XS of Donavan Peterson, who started 12th, Mike Ellingson, Muntefering, and Lee Goos Jr. rounding out the top five positions. Heat races were won by Meyer, Ellingson, and Lyle Howey III.

The Late Model Street Stock division, who already have one points race under their belts this season, saw Ray Feltman Jr. jump from the outside of the front row and easily cruise to the victory. A last race yellow with six laps to go brought the field up to his rear bumper, but Feltman Jr. powered his #175 back to the high side and simply drove away from the field. Howard Baartman nipped the #98 of Dan Jensen with a last lap pass in turn 2 to finish second. Fourth went to Dave Olivier and Gus Clark rounded out the top 5. Heats went to Feltman Jr. and Howard Baartman.

"Fast by Foley" 410 Outlaw Sprints

Qualifications: 1. 71 Dennis Moore, Jr., 11.005; 2. 1M Don Droud, Jr., 11.051; 3. 25 Chad Radel, 11.072; 4. 16 Gary DeWall, 11.105; 5. 11x Gregg Bakker, 11.273; 6. 4 Kenny Hansen, 11.33; 7. R19 Micah Schliemann, 11.42; 8. 9 Wade Nygaard, 11.46; 9. 55 Terry McCarl; 11.47; 10. 3 Terry Reilly, 11.60; 11. 3tw Dave Ekern, 11.71; 12. 4w Matt Wasmund, 11.81; 13. 22 Jason Linnell, 11.83; 14. Chad Meyer, 11.89; 15. 88 David Zitterich, 12.20; 16. 14R Randy Rosenboom, 12.22; 17. 11 Troy Meyer, 12.44; 18. 101 Chuck McGillivray, 12.46; 19. 1 Scott Fokken, No Time.

Heat #1: 1. Terry McCarl; 2. Gregg Bakker; 3. Micah Schliemann; 4. Dennis Moore, Jr.; 5. Chad Radel; 6. Randy Rosenboom; 7. Dave Ekern; 8. Troy Meyer; 9. Jason Linnell (DNF)

Heat #2: 1. Matt Wasmund; 2. Wade Nygaard; 3. Gary DeWall; 4. Terry Reilly; 5. Don Droud, Jr.; 6. Chuck McGillivray; 7. David Zitterich; 8. Chad Meyer (DNF); 9. Kenny Hansen (DNF)

A Feature: 1. Terry McCarl; 2. Gregg Bakker; 3. Don Droud, Jr.; 4. Micah Schliemann; 5. Gary DeWall; 6. Terry Reilly; 7. Chad Radel; 8. Wade Nygaard; 9. Dave Ekern; 10. Kenny Hansen; 11. Randy Rosenboom; 12. Troy Meyer; 13. David Zitterich (DNF); 14. 71 Dennis Moore, Jr. (DNF); 15. Chuck McGillivray (DNF)

"7-UP/Lewis/Pepsi" 360 Sprints

Heat #1: 1. 1W Chad Meyer; 2. 17 Lee Goos, Jr.; 3. 83 Justin Henderson; 4. 31M Kim Muntefering; 5. 11xs Donovan Peterson

Heat #2: 1. 2 Mike Ellingson; 2. 11 Bob Gilliland; 3. 10 Jeremy Kasten; 4. 23W Kent Winters; 5. 77 Troy Vink (DNF)

Heat #3: 1. 55 Lyle Howey III; 2. 24 Randy Droescher; 3. 89 Denzil Smith; 4. 20 Joe Peterson (DNF); 5. 93 Chris Wasmund (DNF)

A Feature: 1. 83 Justin Henderson; 2. 11xs Donovan Peterson; 3. 2 Mike Ellingson; 4. 31M Kim Muntefering; 5. 17 Lee Goos, Jr.; 6. 55 Lyle Howey III; 7. 24 Randy Droescher; 8. 10 Jeremy Kasten; 9. 23W Kent Winters; 10. 77 Troy Vink; 11. 89 Denzil Smith (DNF); 12. 1W Chad Meyer (DNF); 13. 11 Bob Gilliland (DNF)

Late Model Stock Cars

Heat #1: 1. 175 Ray Feltman; 2. 85 Rob Anderson; 3. 98 Dan Jensen; 4. 34 Dale Furby; 5. 71 Dave Olivier; 6. 80 Jim Baartman (DNF); 7. 22 Gary Brown, Jr. (DNF); 8. 19 Kent Plimpton (DNF)

Heat #2: 1. 82 Howard Baartman; 2. 18 Doug Olivier; 3. 9 Brad Wollman; 4. 17G Gus Clark; 5. 20 Perry Tschetter; 6. 17 Don Bickett; 7. 00 Lee Schlombohm

A Feature: 1. 175 Ray Feltman; 2. 82 Howard Baartman; 3. 98 Dan Jensen; 4. 71 Dave Olivier; 5. 17G Gus Clark; 6. 9 Brad Wollman; 7. 34 Dale Furby; 8. 18 Doug Olivier; 9. 20 Perry Tschetter; 10. 17 Don Bickett; 11. 22 Gary Brown, Jr.; 12. 80 Jim Baartman; 13. 85 Rob Anderson (DNF); 14. 00 Lee Schlombohm (DNF)